Calendar Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Calendar Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ July 23, 2012
Oh, I like this movie. Funny & I love anything Marilyn.
June 3, 2012
Hollywood meets the Wonder Years. Corny but cute...
April 27, 2012
this movie was truly adorable i can watch it again and again those three guys are something else
April 19, 2012
Doesn't seem interesting
½ April 5, 2012
Interesting little flick about a group of young fellas wanting to meet Marilyn Monroe.
½ February 25, 2011
A good idea with a cliche story, Calendar Girl isn't exactly a classic. It uses old coming of age plotlines mixed with some not so great plotlines. But The Michael deems it enjoyable for what it's worth.

3 friends who's lives are about to change embark on a fantasy road trip to do what they dreamed of doing ever since they were kids. To meet Marilyn Monroe. While in California, the trio begin to discover things about eachother and themselves that they have always underminded. This movie might be using a very cliche theme, especially in it's time, but it's a good theme. And what better way of representing that theme than have the story be about meeting a woman who in her time had always been underminded of her potential and seriousness. What makes this movie even more dramatic is when the boys look at Marilyn's photos of her naked in the pool, which any Marilyn fan would know that it would only be a short time afterwards that she will die. But as good as that plot may be, the theme doesn't have anything new to say, and there's some cheesy story about being chased my mobsters. So the movie isn't entirely serious or original, and at times doesn't even make sence at all.

Calendar Girl is done as a dramedy. I was mislead by a lot of critics about the quality of the movie. The movie has a very enjoyable pace to it that mixes it's themes and genres quite nicely. At least at that aspect the movie can be enjoyed. But the whole nostalgic '60s setting is not impressive, nor well done. And it could have had an amazing soundtrack, but it doesn't. The scenes are filmed well. Better than expected. And there's some creative choices as well. But overall it's nothing that you haven't seen already.

My opinion: it's not a great movie, nor an original, but it's certianly better than what I've heard about it. At times the story might not make sence, or it might be silly, but it's a journey movie that has a great theme, and a so-so character study that's lame, but fits well. The actors give an enjoyable preformance which gives the movie a few good moments. It's not that great, but it's a good watch anyways.
½ January 12, 2011
priestley was way better in b.h. 90210, not that exciting of movie, something to pass the time... only thing that really got me was the asl the bad guys were doing, as i know some myself.
December 31, 2010
October 7, 2010
Sir Jason "Brandon" Priestly still has the talent to charm you off your pants.
December 19, 2009
Haha, is it scary that I actually thought this was occasionally cute?
½ October 7, 2009
No cbae duda ue las series de TV son un buen escalon para pasar al cine mainstream!
auqneu no aves con excelentes resultados, pero almenso si con unos entreteenidoss momentos como los de esta moviee!

who wants that Jerry O'Connell money!!?
Super Reviewer
September 11, 2009
In "Calendar Girl," Roy (Jason Priestley) and a couple of his friends go on a wild goosechase when they find who they think is the real Marilyn Monroe. The three have always had a crush on Marilyn Monroe since they were kids and now they will do anything to meet her in person. However, they have some enemies who they must stay away from while they try to catch Marilyn.
"Calendar Girl" isn't a good movie. The reason I didn't like it is because it gets old just watching the three chase Marilyn Monroe the whole movie and mainly because the movie doesn't have good acting. Even the bad guys in the movie are unconvincing as the villains who try to get in Roy's way. I wouldn't recommend watching "Calendar Girl" unless you're real bored and there's nothing else on Tv. When the most memorable part of a movie is a nude scene and people only remember the movie by name because they skip forward to the nude beach scene to check out your buck naked butt, that's never a sign of a good movie. Stick to TV shows, Jason
½ August 26, 2009
i liked this movie so much!! i'm a big fan of Marilyn Monroe and i know just how these guys feel...only i definetly can't meet her
July 8, 2009
Guilty pleasure-o-rama! Brandon Walsh, the "fat" kid from "Stand By Me", and some Timothy Hutton wannabe all travel to Hollywood (circa 1963-ish) to stalk Marilyn Monroe. Fake Marilyn's voice is hilarious!
½ June 24, 2009
for the number one reason i saw this movie a million times when i was 9 or 10...please refer to the cover.
February 10, 2009
Intentar conocer a Marilyn es una aventura pero la película no es muy sobresaliente
January 28, 2009
Finally saw it. A very good movie for the MALE Marilyn devotee, whether that's in a perverted sense, or a truly admirable sense; this movie contains all of the above. For those that are not familiar with it, it's about a group of male-Marilyn fans, mostly 'perverted', who go to Hollywood to try to MEET their "favorite eye candy".
½ January 14, 2009
A strangely amusing movie. Love Jason Priestley.
December 24, 2008
This movie's overall suckiness. The only memorable things about it are the idea of chasing Marilyn Monroe and the visit to the nude beach
September 11, 2008
Film law: If it has an ex-cast member from 90210, then it will most likely suck with the exception of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Perry) and Tombstone (Priestly). There are always exceptions to movie rules except that Julia Roberts is a fat sow.
Page 1 of 4