The Last Outlaw - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Outlaw Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 10, 2012
One of the best westerns ever!!!!!!
½ January 15, 2012
Really good for a TV movie, some great actors and a cool story. Fun western to watch with Mickey Rourke getting all kinds of revenge.
Super Reviewer
½ November 30, 2011
A TV movie but a really good one and with a stunning cast of character actors...Rourke, Mulroney, Buscemi, John C. McGinley, Keith David, Ted Levine and Gavan O'Herlihy.

A group of Confederate soldiers and their commander become an outlaw posse after the civil war and soon find themselves being hunted down, pretty basic plot line but a pretty darn good western flick. Sure its not really accurate I would imagine but its a fast violent romp as the gang are taken down one by one to the predictable finale.

Not too original and almost a remake of 'Young Guns' to a degree (which Mulroney starred in too) but its one of those westerns with a modern/flashy spin. Sure it all looks pretty realistic but at the end of the day its just another oppertunity to make a cool gun slinging flick with a cool group of well known character/cult actors in a cool 'last man standing' type story which always get the juices flowing.

Only thing, I don't really know if Rourke's rather slick black leather pants were realistic haha a bit too rock n roll maybe, plus Rourke's face looks kinda odd in this film, almost plastic and covered in makeup, kinda eerie actually.
½ January 24, 2011
Mickey has a go at Charles Bronson in this entertaining television western. He's a memorable lead among an excellent cast of character actors. The film is well paced and tense with a script by the talented Eric Red. It's a simple revenge story with a team of outlaws finally losing patience with the ruthlessness of it's wily leader ( Rourke). Has the grit and atmosphere of an old seventies b movie.
March 21, 2010
Last Viewed: 20/03/2010
January 23, 2010
Mickey Rourke stars as an ex civil war soldier who leads a gang of bank robbers. After one of the members of the gang turns on him and leaves him for dead, he tracks them down and takes his revenge one by one. The acting is pretty bad overall, Mickey Rourke does a good job, but the rest are not very good. Steve Buscemi seems out of place here. The directing is not that great either. There are some good action sequences, it's worth a watch, but not a classic. About a 3.2.
November 20, 2009
This is a fantastic movie. I love everything about it. Great cast, great story, great chase scenes, great dialogue, great ending. "Inventory." Priceless! (BTW, has anyone ever seen such beautiful brown eyes as Dermot Mulroney's? I sure haven't.)
November 10, 2009
This is clearly a negative Southern film... even though the fact of the Southern Confederacy does not play into the film, at all... only the Southern Cross Battle Flag - which gets burned in the opening... and the GOOD OLD REBEL song... Oh, and the filthy Confederate uniforms which are beginning to morph into fleabag coats... the underlying meaning must be that the South is only fit to destroy itself... And that' Outlaw' and 'Southern Rebel' are synonymous... with BETRAYAL and TREASON.

WE GET IT, already!

But I would have felt better had these men been ex-Yankees. I just watched THE LINCOLN CONSPIRACY from 1977, and these Radical Republican abolitionist (Liberals) people killing each other off, what with Lincoln first (then an attempt on Seward, and Johnson, and then James WILLIAM Boyd AKA John Wilkes Booth, and then finally Lafe Baker by poison!).

Well, Yankees are better at killing each other than rebels are! AND IT IS A WHOLE LOT MORE BELIEVABLE!

No honor among these Liberal thieves!

Otherwise, the movie had a good deal of action, and no real plot to it. Still, Frank Wills' character does go out in a style all his own! (He's a real Wills!) That was one uplifting moment!

Too bad we could not have had some justification for dragging the Confederate flag through the muckracker-slander...

The men all have a great sense of acting ability... the cast was great.

The one way it could have redeemed was if Graff had really been a ghost at the end.

That would have been fantastic.
½ October 27, 2009
**1/2 (out of four)

Not too bad, but the film fails to deliver on it's set up. Mickey Rourke does a pretty decent job as an outlaw who is trying to stay alive when a bunch of other outlaws are behing murdered. Dermot Mulroney is also good in a supporting role.
March 15, 2009
OWNS IT GREAT WESTERN FOR ANY WESTERN MOVIE COLLECTOR
March 1, 2009
Its been quite some time since I've seen this but I recall revelling in seeing Rourke as very unnerving cowboy
December 24, 2008
Mickey Rourke is "Graff" as Johnny Depp is to "Capt. Jack Sparrow"...
loved Rourke's facial expression (or lack of!) - very effective! Beautiful cinematography and scenery.
December 11, 2008
Dudes, great movie. Has some old shcool western grit that Tombstone lacks!
August 25, 2008
I usually hate movies like this, but this one was a little better than the rest. I think it's because the outlaw is so bad ass. At one point he even pours gun powder into an open wound and lights it on fire. Truly hard core shit.
½ April 29, 2008
below average western with an half decent cast,apart from mickey rourke,looking and sounding like a reject model from a waxwork museum
½ April 29, 2008
average western,with a half decent cast,apart from mickey rourke,looking and acting like a reject from a waxwork museum.
April 9, 2008
A nice simple western movie with a wonderful cast! The cinematography is stunning and the action delivers effectively! Don't be fooled because it's an HBO production!
½ March 28, 2008
Saw this on tv recently. Though Mickey Rourke looks a bit like a melted Cap'n Jack Sparrow, this isn't a bad movie at all. Probably more for those that already enjoy Westerns.
½ March 24, 2008
This movie had potential, but fell through the cracks. To bad.
Page 1 of 2