Oliver Twist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oliver Twist Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ December 9, 2012
Faithful silent adaptation of the Dickens classic.
Super Reviewer
September 24, 2012
Coogan is kind of a cute kid, and having a movie with Chaney is always good, but this wasn't the best movie of this kind I've seen. I actually haven't read the book, maybe it is boring, but the movie could have been better than it was.
½ May 26, 2012
Despite some good performances, the film takes a while to get started and never really gives a feeling of which genre it belongs in: serious drama or children's film.
Super Reviewer
½ November 12, 2011
Not a bad adaptation for its time. Jackie Coogan was fresh from his success in "The Kid," and the film is obviously tailored as his showcase. Lon Chaney appears in typically elaborate makeup as Fagin, but has little to do beyond hobbling around with a heavy stoop.

The story seems heavily compacted (Oliver's acclimation into Fagin's pickpocket gang is almost instantaneous), but it hits the necessary notes. Coogan is as cute and vulnerable as one expects him to be, and is indulged with one unnecessary scene where he pantomimes the gait of an old man.
½ June 11, 2011
Jackie Coogan as Oliver and Lon Chaney, Sr. as Fagin. Win.
December 7, 2009
the originals the best
½ October 19, 2009
Impressive silent movie, there were many scenes which were more shocking and moving than in any other Oliver Twist version. Despite being silent, the film was never boring. Lon Chaney played a convincing Faguin and Jackie Coogan played a cute Oliver. The film doesn't get its 10 because the film ended without hanging Faguin in the gallows.
½ May 21, 2009
significantly better than i expected. i found oliver twist to be a very boring book, and i had watched the 1920 dr jekyll and mr hyde, which was exceptionally boring as well, save for a great final scene. but this film passed by pretty quickly. there were a few instances of camp, but on the whole the story was effectively told and the message effectively conveyed. and that was significant, given my prior opinion of the story.
February 21, 2009
one of my all time favorite movies
Page 1 of 1