Shallow Grave Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 7, 2011
April 17, 2001
A savagely entertaining neo-film noir.
February 13, 2001
Class has its place, but some of us prefer our cut-'em-ups a little more lowdown.
January 1, 2000
The three ... especially Fox--do well.
January 1, 2000
[The characters] become less and less interesting as the movie progresses.
January 1, 2000
Boyle's cool manner and the performances ultimately ratchet Shallow Grave past the ranks of standard thriller fare.
November 29, 2017
What makes the film fascinating, and exciting, is its marriage of British setting and American, B-movie format. It is as if Edgar G Ulmer or Robert Siodmak had been reborn in Scotland.
November 15, 2017
The violence in the film, in particular, is briskly and harshly managed, without either half-heartedness or gloating. But a little further along, cogency starts falling apart for good.
November 18, 2016
An almost astonishingly interminable thriller...
August 21, 2012
I'm not surprised that in my youth I thought Shallow Grave was a pretty cool movie. What surprises me now is that the adults at the time gave this ridiculous movie a pass.
July 20, 2012
"Shallow Grave" is a story that goes from bad to worse to nasty during its duration. The performances are solid as you can never get a clear read on anyone's motives right until it's about to be revealed. One of the most solid debuts anyone could ask for.
July 2, 2012
"Shallow" is the right word for this stylish but overrated thriller, but fans should be pleased with the gorgeous transfer and generous smattering of extras.
June 22, 2012
While it is not a great film, it is a good first film, amply demonstrating Boyle's catchy visual flair and rat-a-tat sense of tempo, as well as Hodge's ear for dialogue and intuitive sense of character dynamics
February 21, 2008
September 23, 2007
At some point, ordinary human compassion must take up the slack. Boyle isn't a zippy enough director to make up for what's missing. No one is.
February 1, 2007
This stylish, exhilarating feature debut Scottish director Boyle shows impressive command over the film medium. It's new type of British film, more influenced by Tarantino and the Coen brothers than any British tradition--Boyle is a talent to watch.
August 18, 2006
October 8, 2005
September 27, 2005
Impressive cast fails to redeem rather overrated movie.
July 11, 2005
Nasty, mean-spirited, and heartless--perfect qualities for a thriller.
Page 1 of 3