Rob Roy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rob Roy Reviews

September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 26, 2009
Rob Roy has its diversions, but they are unfortunately outweighed by some heavy baggage that contains not enough of substance.
February 9, 2006
Neeson makes a less dashing action hero than did Day-Lewis, but he brings enough gravitas to his role to endow his love for his wife Mary (Lange) and his conflict with Cunningham with real emotional punch.
May 20, 2003
Rob Roy is best watched for local color and for its hearty, hot-blooded stars.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 18, 2002
With such a cast and the setting of the Highlands, plus a story with a gold mine of dramatic potential, it is a puzzle why Rob Roy is so uninvolving.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2001
You always know where it's going even as it meanders for two and a half hours getting there.
February 13, 2001
No more than moderately satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
Director Michael Caton-Jones and Sharp, both Scotsmen, are so caught up in the legend that they don't seem to notice that RR is about as heroic as a hatful of haggis.
January 1, 2000
Strange. I thought I had seen enough sword fights in movies to last a lifetime, but I was wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
As embodied by Liam Neeson, Rob Roy is a tremendous protagonist -- a naive man whose belief in honor and whose love for a woman, family, and clan make him a figure to cheer for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
If you're in a forgiving, campy frame of mind (which I must have been the night I saw this), there's cheap pleasure to be gained from the experience.
April 7, 1995
Full Review | Original Score: B+