The Babysitter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Babysitter Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2017
My original rating of 3 holds. I first saw this a few years after its release in the 90's, and now again in 2017.
It's funny how I relate now to Dolly, the older woman, but when I first saw it, I related to the babysitter. (Despite being nothing like either of them).
This is actually borderline disturbing, as the babysitter is a flat character whose name we don't even discover until the final scene (Jennifer, in case you're interested). She has little to do but be a pretty girl. The real story is of those interacting with her. Her ex boyfriend, current boyfriend, the parents of the children she is babysitting on the evening this movie takes place across. Through them you see little scenes based on what they are reflecting in Jennifer. Jealousy, in Dolly's case, as she feels old and unattractive and her husband clearly has eyes for the young babysitter. Even the young boy she babysits has secret thoughts and fantasies. Some of the thoughts are violent and make for uneasy viewing.
This is an interesting idea, not sure about the execution and Alicia is kind of wasted as this could have been any pretty teen.
½ April 16, 2016
I'v watched an hour of this film and literally couldn't be bothered to watch anymore. The storyline is lacking, the actors are all extremely creepy in this film and the film is pretty much suggesting that having men stalk a girl is ok ? i couldn't stand it. Awful.
½ August 19, 2015
Not too bad, a little bit unconventional as we see the thoughts of all the characters that circle around the babysitter. The acting is a bit below par and the story is a little disappointing as it could have gone a lot further into the darkness.
March 25, 2015
Pretty weird movie, I just couldn't understand what the plot was supposed to be. Nothing in this movie made sense, it only seems that the babysitter was the only one in town, and were this guys really acting or just being dumb, it lacks all the way from start to finish. So for this being one horrible movie and made me ask why Alicia Silverstone took this role???, I give "The Babysitter" an F.
½ September 7, 2014
When this is not the worse film you've seen....
½ January 26, 2014
The longer I watched this film, the more I died a little inside. The story revolves around Alicia (The best thing in the film) Silverstone, a gorgeous looking babysitter that everyone wants to get with. The end. Or so you would wish, instead the film pads itself out with another 2 ongoing stories that fail to impress or impact the big picture in anyway other to have some form of "shock" ending. It's degrading, repetitive and utterly pointless and to top it all off the script comes across like it was written by a teenage boy who knew nothing about erotisim or life or relationships. avoid at all costs.
June 15, 2012
Yeah, it's bad. But this movie was so dark, and no one thought that an Alicia Silverstone movie would've ended like this.
May 2, 2012
"The Babysitter" has an annoying lack of focus that only makes the characters more artificial than they actually are. The best thing I can say about this movie is that Silverstone is absolutely stunning.
½ February 22, 2012
Overrall its ok but lacks alot of sentivity and suspense that should have been added in the film.
½ June 14, 2011
The only reason i have watched this is as i had a huge crush on Silverstone in my teens. She has been in some very poor films but i still think she's a better actress than ever given the credit for. This one though, is hard to watch.
June 11, 2011
I am a massive Alicia fan! I felt her acting in the film was very good. I will admitt the film was rather unusual but it could be entertaining, however certainly not one to watch with the parents. Overall it was a good laugh!
April 2, 2011
I began figuring out what exactly was going on after half time passing. Film tone too serious, messy execution, while Alicia Silverstone was one big miscast to me.
½ January 22, 2011
Terrible, terrible movie. One step short of a porno, there was just no point to it whatsoever.
October 13, 2010
Film about different blokes fantasising about sleeping and having sex with the babysitter
September 28, 2010
This movie was absolutely horrible! A bunch of men having fantasies about having sex with her!
½ September 16, 2010
So absurd, so weird but thanks to Silverstone it's completely sexy.
August 8, 2010
An incredibly awful movie about a bunch of guys (her boyfriend, some random guy, the kid, the little kid's dad) lusting after the babysitter. The whole movie is just her babysitting, then fantasy sequences of all these guys. Oh and then there's the whole thing about her boyfriend wanting to break into the house she's babysitting in to see her because he wants her so bad. Couldn't he have waited till she was done babysitting? They're all insane. And the script is terrible too.
July 10, 2010
This was the stupidest movie that ive ever seen in my life I just didnt like it at all I bought it thinking that it was something else
½ May 1, 2010
Pathetic movie... wht were makers thinking... unnecessarily expanded... its a kind of movie that cud b concluded in 10-15 mins...
Page 1 of 4