Sense and Sensibility - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sense and Sensibility Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 21, 2015
This exquisite endeavor remains the finest Jane Austen adaptation to date.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 4, 2015
This is as lively as costume dramas get.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2011
A lush and witty telling of Jane Austen's novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 27, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 30, 2009
A stylish, witty and substantial adaptation of Jane Austen's novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 30, 2009
For once, Thompson turns in a gimmick-free performance, and the rest of the actors range from fine to fabulous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 30, 2009
Thompson's script manages the neat trick of preserving the necessary niceties and decorum of civilized behavior of the time while still cutting to the dramatic quick.
February 9, 2007
I can't say I remembered this 1995 feature too clearly a couple of days later; but I certainly had a good time as I watched it.
January 20, 2007
A little funny, a bit sad, an all-around entertaining.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 24, 2006
Thompson and Winslet give fine performances ably supported by the rest of the ensemble.
May 26, 2006
Unlike most of the usual rolling hills, costume period drama, Merchant-Ivory type, century-old novel movies, Sense and Sensibility succeeds quite handily.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 10, 2005
A little funny, a bit sad, and all-around entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 6, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
June 20, 2005
Though old-fashioned, this version of Austen's popular book is most enjoyable due to Ang Lee's skillfull helming, Emma Thompson's astute screenplay, which deservedly won the Oscar, and excellent ensemble headed by Thompson and Kate Winslet.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 19, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
September 2, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 8, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
May 21, 2003
We need no further proof that this material is ageless.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
May 14, 2003
Enduring love, heartbreak, undying passion and bitter betrayal. What more could you ask from Jane Austen, and for that matter, from a film?
| Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 3