Sense and Sensibility - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sense and Sensibility Reviews

Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
December 27, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
January 30, 2009
Thompson's script manages the neat trick of preserving the necessary niceties and decorum of civilized behavior of the time while still cutting to the dramatic quick.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
February 9, 2007
I can't say I remembered this 1995 feature too clearly a couple of days later; but I certainly had a good time as I watched it.
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Thompson and Winslet give fine performances ably supported by the rest of the ensemble.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 21, 2003
We need no further proof that this material is ageless.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 13, 2001
The sensibility may be a bit off, but there is more than enough sense involved in this mid-Atlantic Austen to make up the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Louis B. Parks
Houston Chronicle
January 1, 2000
The film is packed with pleasing performances by stage-trained actors.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Told with deft skill and a pleasantly humorous romantic touch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
It's bliss.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Film.com
January 1, 2000
A triumph for Taiwan's most famous director, Ang Lee.
Top Critic
Sean P. Means
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Thompson's script hits its peak by keeping Austen's voice yet finding the satirical smirk behind it.
Top Critic
Bruce Reid
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Sense and Sensibility is funny, expansive, and a delight to spend company with.
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
January 1, 2000
The movie is good fun, boasting a dozen vivid characters and two that moviegoers will take to heart.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Sense and Sensibility is an enjoyable film, and yet it left me somehow unsatisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Demonstrates how little humankind has evolved in matters of the heart.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
An exuberant, well- crafted film that gets the audience involved on a gut level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4