Sense and Sensibility - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sense and Sensibility Reviews

September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 27, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 30, 2009
Thompson's script manages the neat trick of preserving the necessary niceties and decorum of civilized behavior of the time while still cutting to the dramatic quick.
February 9, 2007
I can't say I remembered this 1995 feature too clearly a couple of days later; but I certainly had a good time as I watched it.
June 24, 2006
Thompson and Winslet give fine performances ably supported by the rest of the ensemble.
May 21, 2003
We need no further proof that this material is ageless.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
February 13, 2001
The sensibility may be a bit off, but there is more than enough sense involved in this mid-Atlantic Austen to make up the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2000
The film is packed with pleasing performances by stage-trained actors.
January 1, 2000
Told with deft skill and a pleasantly humorous romantic touch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
It's bliss.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
A triumph for Taiwan's most famous director, Ang Lee.
January 1, 2000
Thompson's script hits its peak by keeping Austen's voice yet finding the satirical smirk behind it.
January 1, 2000
Sense and Sensibility is funny, expansive, and a delight to spend company with.
January 1, 2000
The movie is good fun, boasting a dozen vivid characters and two that moviegoers will take to heart.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Sense and Sensibility is an enjoyable film, and yet it left me somehow unsatisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Demonstrates how little humankind has evolved in matters of the heart.
January 1, 2000
An exuberant, well- crafted film that gets the audience involved on a gut level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4