Twister - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twister Reviews

Page 2 of 3
May 14, 2003
A furiously paced and fantastically fierce series of tornadoes, each one more intense and more amazing than the last, offer enough exhaustion and thrills for even the most jaded moviegoer.
| Original Score: 3/4
January 20, 2003
The plot is minimal, and the character exposition full of cliches -- the scenes that don't feature tornadoes seem very long and almost unbearable to watch.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/10
October 21, 2002
The effects were great, the story was dumb. I hate this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
June 18, 2002
It looks real, and Director Jan De Bont keeps the action coming so fast there's no time to question it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 5, 2002
None of the individual characters draw much compassion; with uncharismatic heroes and black-and-white villains, all that's left to root for are the twisters, which are formidably rendered.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 31, 2002
Cheguei à conclusão, depois de assistir a este filme, que paguei o ingresso para ver uma vaca voando e o trailer de 'Missão: Impossível'.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 15, 2002
An adrenalin-pumping thriller that leaves you with a deep respect for the terrifying power of nature.
February 27, 2001
What Spielberg knew back in 1975, that Crichton, Martin, and director Jan De Bont still haven't figured out, is that too much of a good thing -- no matter how spectacular it is -- will ultimately kill a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 14, 2001
An expert in making audiences squirm and twist, at making us feel the rush of experience right along with the actors, De Bont choreographs action and suspense so beautifully he makes it seem like a snap.
January 1, 2001
Steven Spielberg was one of the executive producers, while the story was written by Michael Crichton, but even the great ones bomb out now and then.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
Science aside, it's not hard to feel that these excitable characters are a wee bit berserk. But the movie works as escapism even if you do know enough to come in out of the rain.
January 1, 2000
It's a perfect motion picture roller coaster -- fun, fast, and furious... as long as you don't think too hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The movie is wall-to-wall with special effects, and they're all convincing, although it's impossible for me to explain how Bill and Jo escape serious injury while staring right up into the Suck Zone of the Finger of God.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I like Twister. I really like it. Okay: I love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 1, 2000
Hunt and Paxton play off each other well. We don't learn a whole lot about their characters, but it's impossible to not cheer for them anyway.
Read More | Original Score: 77/100
January 1, 2000
It was so bad that had it not been for wanting to see all the special effects, I would have been ready to walk out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
In a word, wow.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
The story is pretty thin, but the gee-whiz effects -- especially in an auditorium with good stereo sound -- are guaranteed to knock the audience for a loop.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
A summer crowd-pleaser worthy of its wind.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Never before have I experienced a picture that could have been so good and that had so much going for it, that blew it so badly.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 2 of 3