The Last Supper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Supper Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 6, 2015
A vacuous black comedy set among frustrated liberals.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
June 10, 2010
This sour, repetitive fare fails to feed our hunger for either laughter or enlightenment. It's all empty calories and reactionary chic.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
June 10, 2010
As the body count gets higher, and the housemates begin to question their high-and-mighty purposes, the movie stumbles under its sophomoric moral weight.
Clint Morris
Moviehole
September 5, 2008
Deliciously Dark!
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Emanuel Levy
Variety
August 26, 2006
This low-budgeter that "came out of nowhere" is a fresh, pungent tale about Right and Left--and Right and Left--in contempo American politics, well-acted by a gifted ensmeble, including the young Cameron Diaz.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
It falls apart, but the cool cast and caustic script will leave most right-thinking people well satisfied.
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
September 6, 2003
The flick seems like a long and well-told joke; one that's enjoyable to listen to despite the lack of a truly resounding punchline.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dragan Antulov
rec.arts.movies.reviews
May 23, 2003
The Last Supper clearly shows that the noble principles are of little use when people can't overcome their lack of common sense.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
The Last Supper shows some darkly effective visual style, but it has none of the wit needed to save such a story from lumbering obviousness and sophomoric political debate.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
April 21, 2003
Great premise. Lousy movie.
| Original Score: 2/5
Darrin Keene
Film Threat
February 4, 2003
The film's premise will undoubtedly lure in the liberal faction. They'll be in for a surprise.
| Original Score: 3/5
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
August 26, 2002
Black comedy about the moral emptiness of all politically activated violence.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
You know you're in good hands in The Last Supper from the well-directed first scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Lael Loewenstein
Boxoffice Magazine
June 5, 2002
It's tautly helmed by first-time feature director Title and well-acted by the able cast, particularly Vance and Annabeth Gish. But the film runs into trouble by quickly exhausting its one idea and by taking too long to get to its inevitable conclusion.
Leslie Rigoulot
Film Scouts
April 17, 2002
In today's divisive political climate, where compromise is a dirty word, The Last Supper raises not only timely questions but moral dilemmas as well.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
For the first thirty minutes, this picture takes a solid premise and runs with it. Unfortunately, the momentum eventually flags, and The Last Supper meanders through an unnecessarily-protracted middle segment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
A brave effort in a timid time, a Swiftian attempt to slap us all in the face and get us to admit that our own freedoms depend precisely on those of our neighbors, our opponents and, yes, our enemies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
Is it me? Am I losing my sense of humour? Have I forgotten what satire's all about? Nah. My disappointment with The Last Supper has more to do with how it screwed up on the details.
| Original Score: 66/100
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
It manages to be both thought-provoking as well being chock full of dark humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
All the courses are here and so are the nutrients, but The Last Supper, nevertheless, is a less-than-satisfying meal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2