The Last Supper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Supper Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 1, 2000
For the first thirty minutes, this picture takes a solid premise and runs with it. Unfortunately, the momentum eventually flags, and The Last Supper meanders through an unnecessarily-protracted middle segment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
The problem with movies like The Last Supper, about 20-somethings with lots to talk about and nothing to do, is they try to cut a wide creative swath through biting satire, poignant darkness, and aesthetics and come up far short on all counts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 14, 2002
| Original Score: 2/5
September 6, 2015
A vacuous black comedy set among frustrated liberals.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 10, 2010
As the body count gets higher, and the housemates begin to question their high-and-mighty purposes, the movie stumbles under its sophomoric moral weight.
April 21, 2003
Great premise. Lousy movie.
| Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Is it me? Am I losing my sense of humour? Have I forgotten what satire's all about? Nah. My disappointment with The Last Supper has more to do with how it screwed up on the details.
Read More | Original Score: 66/100
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
All the courses are here and so are the nutrients, but The Last Supper, nevertheless, is a less-than-satisfying meal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 5, 2002
It's tautly helmed by first-time feature director Title and well-acted by the able cast, particularly Vance and Annabeth Gish. But the film runs into trouble by quickly exhausting its one idea and by taking too long to get to its inevitable conclusion.
May 20, 2003
The Last Supper shows some darkly effective visual style, but it has none of the wit needed to save such a story from lumbering obviousness and sophomoric political debate.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 10, 2010
This sour, repetitive fare fails to feed our hunger for either laughter or enlightenment. It's all empty calories and reactionary chic.
January 1, 2000
A brave effort in a timid time, a Swiftian attempt to slap us all in the face and get us to admit that our own freedoms depend precisely on those of our neighbors, our opponents and, yes, our enemies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 6, 2003
The flick seems like a long and well-told joke; one that's enjoyable to listen to despite the lack of a truly resounding punchline.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 13, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2008
Deliciously Dark!
| Original Score: 3/5
February 9, 2006
It falls apart, but the cool cast and caustic script will leave most right-thinking people well satisfied.
August 26, 2002
Black comedy about the moral emptiness of all politically activated violence.
January 1, 2000
Will hold your attention but is really a one-note symphony
Full Review
January 1, 2000
A delectable black comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2