The Last Supper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Supper Reviews

Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
June 10, 2010
This sour, repetitive fare fails to feed our hunger for either laughter or enlightenment. It's all empty calories and reactionary chic.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
June 10, 2010
As the body count gets higher, and the housemates begin to question their high-and-mighty purposes, the movie stumbles under its sophomoric moral weight.
Top Critic
Emanuel Levy
Variety
August 26, 2006
This low-budgeter that "came out of nowhere" is a fresh, pungent tale about Right and Left--and Right and Left--in contempo American politics, well-acted by a gifted ensmeble, including the young Cameron Diaz.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
It falls apart, but the cool cast and caustic script will leave most right-thinking people well satisfied.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
The Last Supper shows some darkly effective visual style, but it has none of the wit needed to save such a story from lumbering obviousness and sophomoric political debate.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
You know you're in good hands in The Last Supper from the well-directed first scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
A brave effort in a timid time, a Swiftian attempt to slap us all in the face and get us to admit that our own freedoms depend precisely on those of our neighbors, our opponents and, yes, our enemies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
For the first thirty minutes, this picture takes a solid premise and runs with it. Unfortunately, the momentum eventually flags, and The Last Supper meanders through an unnecessarily-protracted middle segment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Susan Wloszczyna
USA Today
January 1, 2000
A delectable black comedy.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
April 5, 1996
Full Review | Original Score: B