Independence Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Independence Day Reviews

Page 1 of 4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
July 27, 2016
One of the best summer blockbusters ever made...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jason Bailey
July 1, 2016
A loathsome, soulless husk of a garbage movie - a bad movie then, and it's a bad movie now.
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
June 26, 2016
A throwback to the disaster films of the 1970s, but on a global scale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
May 7, 2016
Borrowing liberally from War of the Worlds, 2001, Close Encounters and every other sci-fi outing this side of Santa Claus Conquers the Martians, it somehow manages to recycle these reference points and come up with something that works on its own terms.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeff Beck
The Blu Spot
May 6, 2016
It may not be what you would call a great film, but that doesn't stop it from being the fun spectacle it was always meant to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
July 4, 2013
One quarter of a very decent albeit cliche alien invasion film, and three quarters an unwatchable adventure film.
September 8, 2009
Spending a scant four weeks on script versus 13 months on physical production, as happened here, does have its drawbacks.
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
September 1, 2009
Independence Day Restores Order to the Millennium.
Steve Biodrowski
July 7, 2008
Basically, this is almost perfect realization of the movie you eagerly anticipated when, as a kid, you saw some poster or coming attractions trailer for a 1950s-style alien invasion movie ...
Top Critic
Carol Buckland
March 5, 2008
Splendidly cheesy entertainment.

March 5, 2008
Insanely pompous and brilliantly exhilarating in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
March 5, 2008
It's the first futuristic disaster movie that's as cute as a button. Which, when all the special effects blow over, is what we Americans like in a monster hit.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
David Ansen
March 5, 2008
If I were a 10-year-old boy, I'd probably think it was the coolest movie going.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
March 5, 2008
As unavoidably entertaining as it is hopelessly cornball.
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
March 5, 2008
Maybe the moviemakers' mission was to boldly go where everyone in Hollywood has gone before: the bank.
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
March 5, 2008
No matter how ludicrous and coincidental the plot gets, it never takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
March 5, 2008
The earnestness, the effects, and the notion of a whole world forgetting its differences to defeat a common foe carry a certain charm.
Rob Gonsalves
August 13, 2007
Forget government conspiracies about aliens -- what about the entertainment media's conspiracy to persuade America that this movie doesn't suck?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
February 17, 2007
No one who wants to see this movie needs me to recommend it to them, but if anyone wants to know, I say stay home and rent one of those other movies on video.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Everything feels anti-climactic after the fireworks, but the moral is clear: it's the end of the world as we know it. And we feel fine.
Page 1 of 4