Independence Day Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
July 4, 2013
One quarter of a very decent albeit cliche alien invasion film, and three quarters an unwatchable adventure film.

Hollywood.com
September 8, 2009
Spending a scant four weeks on script versus 13 months on physical production, as happened here, does have its drawbacks.
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
September 1, 2009
Independence Day Restores Order to the Millennium.
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter
July 7, 2008
Basically, this is almost perfect realization of the movie you eagerly anticipated when, as a kid, you saw some poster or coming attractions trailer for a 1950s-style alien invasion movie ...
Top Critic
Carol Buckland
CNN.com
March 5, 2008
Splendidly cheesy entertainment.

Film4
March 5, 2008
Insanely pompous and brilliantly exhilarating in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
March 5, 2008
It's the first futuristic disaster movie that's as cute as a button. Which, when all the special effects blow over, is what we Americans like in a monster hit.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
March 5, 2008
If I were a 10-year-old boy, I'd probably think it was the coolest movie going.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
March 5, 2008
As unavoidably entertaining as it is hopelessly cornball.
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
March 5, 2008
Maybe the moviemakers' mission was to boldly go where everyone in Hollywood has gone before: the bank.
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
March 5, 2008
No matter how ludicrous and coincidental the plot gets, it never takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
March 5, 2008
The earnestness, the effects, and the notion of a whole world forgetting its differences to defeat a common foe carry a certain charm.
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
August 13, 2007
Forget government conspiracies about aliens -- what about the entertainment media's conspiracy to persuade America that this movie doesn't suck?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
February 17, 2007
No one who wants to see this movie needs me to recommend it to them, but if anyone wants to know, I say stay home and rent one of those other movies on video.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Everything feels anti-climactic after the fireworks, but the moral is clear: it's the end of the world as we know it. And we feel fine.
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
April 9, 2005
No brain, no pain, but a heck of a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Steve Crum
Kansas City Kansan
December 28, 2004
The most spectacular and intriguing sci-fi action film since the 'Star Wars' trilogy. (published 7-6-96)
| Original Score: A-
Maitland McDonagh
TV Guide's Movie Guide
July 30, 2003
Finally, science fiction the way it used to be: rousing, cosmically xenophobic and ferociously patriotic... Take that, space bullies!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Dragan Antulov
rec.arts.movies.reviews
February 14, 2003
One of the prime guilty pleasures of our time.
| Original Score: 5/10
James Rocchi
Netflix
November 7, 2002
Big, dumb, glossy blockbuster designed for mass appeal is massively appalling.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 3