Independence Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Independence Day Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 27, 2016
One of the best summer blockbusters ever made...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2016
A throwback to the disaster films of the 1970s, but on a global scale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 7, 2016
Borrowing liberally from War of the Worlds, 2001, Close Encounters and every other sci-fi outing this side of Santa Claus Conquers the Martians, it somehow manages to recycle these reference points and come up with something that works on its own terms.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 6, 2016
It may not be what you would call a great film, but that doesn't stop it from being the fun spectacle it was always meant to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 7, 2008
Basically, this is almost perfect realization of the movie you eagerly anticipated when, as a kid, you saw some poster or coming attractions trailer for a 1950s-style alien invasion movie ...
March 5, 2008
Splendidly cheesy entertainment.
March 5, 2008
Insanely pompous and brilliantly exhilarating in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 5, 2008
It's the first futuristic disaster movie that's as cute as a button. Which, when all the special effects blow over, is what we Americans like in a monster hit.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 5, 2008
If I were a 10-year-old boy, I'd probably think it was the coolest movie going.
March 5, 2008
As unavoidably entertaining as it is hopelessly cornball.
March 5, 2008
No matter how ludicrous and coincidental the plot gets, it never takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 5, 2008
The earnestness, the effects, and the notion of a whole world forgetting its differences to defeat a common foe carry a certain charm.
Top Critic
February 9, 2006
Everything feels anti-climactic after the fireworks, but the moral is clear: it's the end of the world as we know it. And we feel fine.
April 9, 2005
No brain, no pain, but a heck of a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 28, 2004
The most spectacular and intriguing sci-fi action film since the 'Star Wars' trilogy. (published 7-6-96)
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: A-
July 30, 2003
Finally, science fiction the way it used to be: rousing, cosmically xenophobic and ferociously patriotic... Take that, space bullies!
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 3.5/4
February 14, 2003
One of the prime guilty pleasures of our time.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
September 10, 2002
It has the big budget and SFX of a 90s flick, but it still feels like a 1950 B-movie, and not even a good one. Now that's sad
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 4