Independence Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Independence Day Reviews

March 5, 2008
Splendidly cheesy entertainment.
March 5, 2008
It's the first futuristic disaster movie that's as cute as a button. Which, when all the special effects blow over, is what we Americans like in a monster hit.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 5, 2008
If I were a 10-year-old boy, I'd probably think it was the coolest movie going.
March 5, 2008
As unavoidably entertaining as it is hopelessly cornball.
March 5, 2008
Maybe the moviemakers' mission was to boldly go where everyone in Hollywood has gone before: the bank.
March 5, 2008
The earnestness, the effects, and the notion of a whole world forgetting its differences to defeat a common foe carry a certain charm.
Top Critic
February 9, 2006
Everything feels anti-climactic after the fireworks, but the moral is clear: it's the end of the world as we know it. And we feel fine.
June 18, 2002
The picture is ultimately fun, thanks mostly to the colorful characters and the mock-hero ic spirit that kicks in full-throttle after the world has almost been destroyed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
April 12, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 14, 2001
So much about ID4 is so old it's inevitable that homesick audiences, eager for familiar scenarios, will embrace it as if it's nothing but new.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
The film has a genial it's-only-a-movie attitude that sets it apart, quite emphatically, from other blockbuster action movies.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
As for the human characters, they give merely adequate back-seat support to the special effects that drive this big-budget thriller.
January 1, 2000
Unfortunately, and perhaps not unexpectedly, it doesn't live up to the hype.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
There's precious little reward in plumbing the world-historical implications of the screenplay.
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The aliens, when we finally see them, are a serious disappointment; couldn't they think of anything more interesting than octopus men?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Though the movie isn't too deep, it's certainly a rousing state-of-the-art cartoon capped by an aerial-combat climax that, to its credit, isn't anti-climactic.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
You know going in that Independence Day will have terrific effects and loads of action. But the filmmakers have also carefully crafted appealing characters and several good relationships, which they develop as the story unfolds.