Freeway - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Freeway Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 6, 2011
Darkly humorous, witty and nasty, Freeway is an original take on the Red Riding Hood fairytale, featuring a wonderful performance by the teenage Reese Witherspoon, before she became a star
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 28, 2011
[The] characters are crisp and fascinating, and the movie has a great anything-can-happen B-movie excitement feel to it.
February 13, 2008
One of the most stubbornly original and electrifying films not only of 1996, but of the '90s, period.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
January 26, 2006
There's not much edification in store, and [director] Bright cruises over some bumpy plot holes, but the teen's perspective does put a black comic spotlight on wider social hypocrisies.
July 30, 2003
It's just the sort of thing Oliver Stone strove so hard to achieve in Natural Born Killers, and [writer/director Matthew] Bright pulls it off effortlessly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2003
Freeway glints here and there with dark humor amounting to a knowing wink that undercuts the cautionary tale at its heart and the seriousness of its graphic sociology.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2003
Freeway somehow manages to be hip, imaginative and hilarious. Road film, comedy, prison drama and Oliver Stone's Natural Born Killers all rolled into one.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
November 28, 2002
Shockingly dark and nasty take on the Red Riding Hood tale.
| Original Score: 4/5
October 15, 2002
I didn't particularly want to like Freeway, but I couldn't help myself. Reese Witherspoon made me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 3, 2002
'Little Red Riding Hood,' my, how you've grown...
| Original Score: 3/5
July 12, 2002
Cynical, stylish and witty.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 18, 2002
Rude in the way the truth is rude -- only funnier.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 5, 2002
The great cast brings light-hearted humor and credibility to what could otherwise have been seen as a sickly exploitative (though well-written and directed) script.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 17, 2002
We are clobbered with excess as if we wouldn't understand a subtle fable.
February 27, 2001
Freeway is not good satire, it's not good comedy, and it's not in the least bit entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 14, 2001
It's too drawn-out, too talky and, at the most crucial moment, needlessly implausible, to sustain its humor and large dose of violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2001
Writer-director Matthew Bright does a great job for a first-time director. The plot is fascinating as it unfolds. Until the very end of the film you really can't tell what's coming next.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 1, 2000
Both grimly funny and thought-provoking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Alive with the luscious turn-ons of sex and danger, Freeway is the most impressive debut film I've seen all year.
January 1, 2000
Like it or hate it (or both), you have to admire its skill, and the over-the-top virtuosity of Reese Witherspoon and Kiefer Sutherland.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 2