Hamlet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hamlet Reviews

Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
September 25, 2002
There are many ... instances when you want to run screaming from Elsinore Castle.
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
August 15, 2002
With his handsome and compelling Hamlet, Kenneth Branagh brings the Bard's greatest tragedy passionately alive on the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
April 12, 2002
This Hamlet may not be perfect, but it is perfectly engrossing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
January 1, 2000
As star and ringmaster, Branagh gets to the heart of Hamlet and goes to admirable lengths to take his audience there, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lloyd Rose
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
The film equivalent of a lushly illustrated coffee-table book.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
I have seen dozens of versions of this play (either on screen or on stage), and none has ever held me in such a grip of awe.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Jeff Millar
Houston Chronicle
January 1, 2000
By looking to the box office and the classroom with equal respect, [Branagh] has kept himself a friend of Shakespeare.
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
Kenneth Branagh directs and stars in a vibrant, full-text, full-hearted film from Shakespeare's most complex tragedy.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
January 1, 2000
Branagh confirms what was known from the opening shot of Henry V: he has fine cinematic skills.
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
January 1, 2000
Glorious as it is, this unexpurgated workout is ultimately a movie of moments.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Scott Rosenberg
Salon.com
January 1, 2000
Every little triumph seems to inspire in Branagh some accompanying act of bad taste or judgment.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Branagh's version moved me, entertained me and made me feel for the first time at home in that doomed royal court.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
A vigorous, four-hour adaptation that's 100 percent Shakespeare and 100 percent cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4