Black Angel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Black Angel Reviews

Page 2 of 2
September 14, 2009
A lesser known but good suspense noir starring Peter Lorre, Dan Duryea, and June Vincent. Duryea's wife is found dead and Vincent's husband is placed on death row for the murder. Duryea and Vincent join forces to find the real killer, and after suspecting Lorre they join his nightclub. The ending upsets expectations in great noir style, though. Nice camerawork, acting, and suspense.
July 31, 2009
Despite its title, not a blaxploitation flick, rather a solid mystery with alcoholic and wife of wrongfully imprisoned man investigating a murder. Peter Lorre is unmistakable as usual. As with most film noirs, packs a good punch in a short runtime.
January 9, 2009
It's a rule: if you see Peter Lorre more than likely killing someone in act 1.... oh, nevermind.
January 10, 2008
Peter rules---need I say more, really?
December 23, 2007
decent noir with some pretty nice shots (the opening window shot in particular) but the story was pretty shallow and needed one or two more twists and witty dialogue to rank with the classics of that genre. the acting was average, but Lorre's role was minimal and almost non-existent. Duryea stood out as the male lead, but despite his talent he never really landed the roles to make him a stand-out hollywood star...and this film is certainly proof of that.
October 19, 2007
Super tits. Evil Peter Lorre . I totally forgot i've seen it.
October 3, 2007
Just one of my many noir favourites. Lorre plays it slick as usual and the film is jam packed with stylish little details and sinister shadows. It also contains a feverish dream/memory sequence just like every good noir movie should.
September 27, 2007
Some really nice noir moments and an interesting turn by Lorre, but the story and writing lacked flavor.
August 31, 2007
peter lorre-nuff said
June 18, 2007
It's a Noir STARRING Dan Duryea. That is good enough for me.
June 18, 2007
Good acting- particulary by Duryea and Lorre- but this film fell flat for me. Not that suspenseful- and the ending was disappointing as I was waiting for a big twist that never materialized.
May 29, 2007
It is very easy to be tempted into this film by Lorre's name. If that's what you want, there are other films that you should be watching first. Lorre is still very good here, but he feels a bit out of his element. Unlike, say, his small role in Casablanca, Lorre is given the place of a respectable businessman. It seems very alien to him.
However, Duryea gives a solid (if slightly formulated) noir protaganist, and June Vincent is a very good performance here.
For a B movie, you won't get much better than this.
January 15, 2007
Directed by Roy William Neill
Starring Dan Duryea, June Vincent, Peter Lorre, Broderick Crawford, Constance Dowling

The script, while penned by mighty hands, seemed out of control and that more often than not, questions rationality. Many the actions of the characters are clichéd and dumbfounded that it was hard to take them seriously. Only Lorre provided hints of noirish coming. Crawford, who?d later on became a sensation in 1949?s ?All the King?s Men? was clearly out of his league in detective shoes. With all the crooked evidences of inferiority, ?Black Angel? is still considered somewhere among the auspicious company of forgotten gems.
Best Scene: Peter Lorre auditions a couple of wannabe stars.
QUOTE: ?The busboys, I can?t compete with them.?
Super Reviewer
November 17, 2006
Absolutely vintage noir. Relentlessly entertaining and directed to a "t", this is one outstanding cult classic.
Super Reviewer
½ November 12, 2006
Worth it for a creepy Peter Lorre and a drunken Dan Duryea. And when they explain who the killer is you'll laugh your ass off. At least I did.
October 11, 2006
Peter Lorre is in it so it has some appeal.
½ November 7, 2005
Nifty little film noir, with a great performance by Dan Duryea. Sassy dialogue, suspenseful, wonderful short length. Fast paced and to the point. Good black and white photography, taut direction.
Page 2 of 2