Les Miserables - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Les Miserables Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 1, 2000
It contains the moments of high drama, clearly outlines all the motivations, is easy to follow and lacks only passion. A story filled with outrage and idealism becomes somehow merely picturesque.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
It never sinks, but it never really soars either, though here and there it hits a powerful moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 22, 2003
Somewhere, Victor Hugo must be rolling in his grave.
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 6, 2012
I feel like saying I hate this movie. I really don't. I was just bored out of my mind by its lack of anything real.
January 1, 2001
It's not that this is a bad film, after all it does have fine actors and it is based on a great story. It just doesn't live up to its predecessors.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 27, 2001
August never manages to build any real momentum or urgency to pull the story along -- it's more like he wades through it, moving from one set-piece to the next with deliberate care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
The movie's whole virtuous conception of Jean Valjean sticks in my craw. He's haunted and hunted, but he reeks of a reasoned, noble superiority that's a pretty sterile quality in the hero of an epic.
January 1, 2000
there's nothing glaringly wrong with August's film, and several of the performances are terrific. Why then does it seem about as engaging as a well-written book report?
January 1, 2000
irtually every scene feels muted, the passions tamed to a state of dignified dissatisfaction.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
April 24, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 1, 1998
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Towering over the entire film is Liam Neeson, the Irish actor who seems at home in any kind of picture, whether it transpires in contemporary America, World War II Germany, or centuries-ago Scotland.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Much of what I enjoyed of the novel was missing, but then it should come as no great surprise that not all 1600 pages of story would make it to the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/8
January 27, 2013
Neeson's is an outstanding, memorable Jean Valjean who does a mighty job of anchoring this film and keeping its drama earthy and humane.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 18, 2002
| Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2000
The newest screen version of Les Miserables is like its hero, Jean Valjean, strong and solid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
I was absolutely enthralled by the film thanks to Liam Neeson and Geoffrey Rush. These two powerful actors make Les MisÚrables totally engrossing.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 1, 2000
Handsome and broad, with luminous performances from a pedigree cast, it's a bit surprising Columbia Pictures didn't hold on to it until a more Oscar-friendly time of year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 2, 2002
Illustrates the redemptive power of forgiveness and the destructive consequences of self-hate.
April 9, 2005
The new version is a traditional telling of the story, and there is nothing wrong with tradition.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 3