Psycho - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Psycho Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 23, 2013
The cast is fantastic, sure, but they're wasted in a sea of redundancy.
April 25, 2013
failed project
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 1, 2012
What Van Sant's film does, tremendously well, is make the material foreign again.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 22, 2012
a true labour of love, an homage in such deliriously infatuated thrall to its inspiration that it seems more arthouse folly than studio cashcow - or, to cite the psychiatrist near the end of Psycho, "these were crimes of passion, not profit."
August 7, 2012
A futile, soulless shot-by-shot remake of Hitchcock's masterpiece.
Read More | Original Score: D
August 21, 2009
Already my mother and I mourn the day when some AVID editor will dare to digitally tweak Vertigo, spinning it into a virtual romantic comedy starring computer-directed replicas of Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan.
March 26, 2009
Contains nothing to outrage or offend partisans of the original, yet neither does it stand to add much to their appreciation.
September 16, 2008
...the Hitchcock film relied for its effects on originality and creativity. Van Sant's remake substitutes rote repetition and cliches that have long since lost their value.
September 22, 2007
Psycho doesn't do much for Van Sant, and he doesn't do much for Psycho.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 13, 2007
Vaughn's Norman Bates is much inferior because he lacks the natural neurosis of Anthony Perkins.
Read More | Original Score: 4/10
May 26, 2006
Deserves closer consideration than it received.
February 9, 2006
Hitchcock probably wouldn't tell this story if he was making films today, and he certainly wouldn't tell it this way, with internal 'voices', back projection, minimal nudity and violence.
December 6, 2005
The movie doesn't stink. The performances are good, potentially great, especially Vince Vaughn as Norman Bates, but he owns a scene just for doing that psychotic giggle of his.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 9, 2005
A lot of people may not get the point of recreating a work such as Psycho. I didn't get it, until I saw the film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 2, 2005
Personally, I found the remake weaker than the original (which was only vaguely interesting anyway; then again, it's pretty much the same movie).
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 9, 2004
To my absolute astonishment, I enjoyed the remake more than the original.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 7, 2004
franky it sucks
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 20, 2003
Gus Vant Sant has remade Alfred Hitchcock's classic slasher film with so much reverence and so little originality that it is not clear what the point is.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
February 8, 2003
It's surprising to note that this film, mostly well-acted, is somewhat lacking on the technical side, which is what Hollywood usually does best these days.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 10, 2003
A Psycho that functions perfectly on its own terms while polishing this jewel of a thriller into its own bright new gleam.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 4