Psycho - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Psycho Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 1, 2012
What Van Sant's film does, tremendously well, is make the material foreign again.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 22, 2012
a true labour of love, an homage in such deliriously infatuated thrall to its inspiration that it seems more arthouse folly than studio cashcow - or, to cite the psychiatrist near the end of Psycho, "these were crimes of passion, not profit."
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 21, 2009
Already my mother and I mourn the day when some AVID editor will dare to digitally tweak Vertigo, spinning it into a virtual romantic comedy starring computer-directed replicas of Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan.
May 26, 2006
Deserves closer consideration than it received.
April 9, 2005
A lot of people may not get the point of recreating a work such as Psycho. I didn't get it, until I saw the film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 9, 2004
To my absolute astonishment, I enjoyed the remake more than the original.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 8, 2003
It's surprising to note that this film, mostly well-acted, is somewhat lacking on the technical side, which is what Hollywood usually does best these days.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 10, 2003
A Psycho that functions perfectly on its own terms while polishing this jewel of a thriller into its own bright new gleam.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 10, 2002
Predictably, it's (almost) the exact same film, but I wouldn't say that it's a pointless enterprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Is this film better than the original? The answer is no, not quite, but to my shock, it is just about as good of a remake as could have possibly been expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
| Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
Vaughn and Heche bring energy and freshness to the parts originated by Anthony Perkins and Janet Leigh. Heche is so good, in fact, and so frisky and watchable in her role, that after her grisly demise in the shower you miss her for a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
There's so much to relish here that you quickly lose any sense that the remake is some kind of insult to the original.
January 1, 2000
This gutsy cinematic experiment is more than just a curiosity. It's an intelligent homage (at times even a spoof) and still a bit of a hand-wringer, even though pop culture has spoiled all the surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The one actor who stood out from the pack was definitely the rising star of the year, Vince Vaughn, who took Anthony Perkins' superb original performance, and added his own macabre touch of surrealism.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
It remains the most structurally elegant and sneakily playful of thrillers!
January 1, 2000
Van Sant clearly knows that if it ain't broke, don't fix it, and his own smooth touch is neatly sympathetic with his predecessor's.
January 1, 2000
Van Sant's edgy undercurrents will jolt multiplexers new to the film.
January 1, 2000
Maybe in 50 years, Gus Van Sant's Psycho will be the classic that needs protection from upstart filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 4