Bye Bye Birdie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bye Bye Birdie Reviews

Page 1 of 4
February 8, 2017
Miscast, sloppily directed and overacted, this pedestrian 1995 TV remake will either send you to sleep or have you throwing things at the screen. Charles Strouse and Lee Adams wrote some nice songs, but the two-hour anecdote on which they hang is as flimsy as fluff.
½ January 10, 2016
yuck skip this see the 1963 version the lessor of 2 evils
½ August 14, 2014
Unlike the 1963 version this IS the play. The budget gets in the way for this TV film but Jason Alexander and Vanessa Williams give very nice, very sweet performances. Recommended.
½ October 21, 2013
Bye Bye Birdie is a disappointing film. It is about rock-and-roll icon Conrad Birdie who is about to go into the Army, and plans are being made to arrange his final going-away concert. Jason Alexander and Vanessa Williams give horrible performances. The teleplay is badly written. Gene Saks did an awful job directing this t.v. movie. I was not impressed with this t.v. film.
January 22, 2013
George Costanza stars in this made for TV remake... Eh, whatever.
August 14, 2012
Enjoyable and fun to watch, though fans of the 1963 original may disagree.
½ April 10, 2012
although it was an interesting version of the musical...the original was still the best...although i did love Tyne Daily as the mother, her song "a mother doesnt matter" was a classic
February 9, 2012
This was a horrible remake of the 1963 classic film. Sometimes you just have to leave well enough alone.
July 13, 2011
Jason Alexander in a Wig! Nowhere near as Good as the Ann Margaret version
March 12, 2011
I love this movie! It has all the fun of "Grease"!
½ February 24, 2010
Needless remake, and it can?t come close to capturing the charm of the original. The extreme length causes more than a few yawn inducing parts. This version is ridiculously politically correct. The film lacks style, and mostly it lacks talent, not just with the acting, but the direction, sets, costumes etc. are all below par. It has a blatant disregard for period detail. Vanessa Williams is the only cast member that shows any flair, Tyne Daly isn't too bad. They should have left well enough alone.
½ February 24, 2010
31/100. Needless remake, and it can't come close to capturing the charm of the original. The extreme length causes more than a few yawn inducing parts. This version is ridiculously politically correct. The film lacks style, and mostly it lacks talent, not just with the acting, but the direction, sets, costumes etc. are all below par. It has a blatant disregard for period detail. Vanessa Williams is the only cast member that shows any flair, Tyne Daly isn't too bad. They should have left well enough alone.
½ June 6, 2009
An almost 40-year old Chynna Phillips as a teenager is very unbelievable. I like the original much better.
February 15, 2009
As was the case with musicals of the 1950s and 60s, the plot here is nothing more than a showcase for the songs, which are not all that spectacular either. Characters acted on out-of-character impulses that served no purpose other than to give them a cool dance sequence or a song to segue into. But Jason Alexander and Vanessa Williams are ever so watchable in the lead roles and even more so when they break into song and dance together. They create two very charming characters within the difficult confines of the script, and most of this movie's 3-star rating goes directly to them. They made this watchable.
January 5, 2009
It's ok....I liked the 1963 version MUCH better though!
December 8, 2008
ooh , sc`ear my breighn {scar- to fEAr >/ close to brey'n , uck ,cha
½ November 25, 2008
Skip this junk. See the REAL one with Anne Margeret
½ July 14, 2008
although it was an interesting version of the musical...the original was still the best...although i did love Tyne Daily as the mother, her song "a mother doesnt matter" was a classic
½ July 7, 2008
Why did they touch this musical? They turned it into a horrible television remake. This was a horrible rendition. Jason Alexander was awful as Albert and Vanessa Williams as Rosie, I don't think so! I don't know, they just seem to have hacked it up all wrong. Don't watch this version, unless you want to waste your time. Try the original film with Dick Van Dyke and Ann Margret.
June 27, 2008
HAHAHA. Vanessa Williams is supposed to be the "Spanish" Rose. i laughed....
Page 1 of 4