The Love Letter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Love Letter Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
November 10, 2009
To call this 'a romantic comedy-drama' is to imply an involving emotional core and a witty sense of humor that simply aren't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Bland dialogue and dull sitcom acting!
Top Critic
Robert Horton
Film.com
January 1, 2000
A mild and likable enough romantic comedy.

E! Online
January 1, 2000
Irritatingly cozy and with few unexpected turns, the film is just too cute for its own good.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
January 1, 2000
It wants to revel in rapture and grand illusions and timeless dreams, yet its vision of love is overly graphed out and willed.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
January 1, 2000
"Do you know how in love with you I am? Did I trip? Did I stumble? Lose my balance, graze my knee...graze my heart?"
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Louis B. Hobson
Jam! Movies
January 1, 2000
Sweet, charming and funny!
Jim Judy
Screen It!
January 1, 2000
A mediocre and occasionally melodramatic picture!
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
A piece of tasty meringue to enjoy!
| Original Score: 70/100
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
January 1, 2000
The film's construction is clumsy and the sentiments a little corny.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
A scattershot account of unexpected, confusing romantic love that spreads like a virus!
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
January 1, 2000
The Force isn't with, nor is there much dramatic force behind The Love Letter!
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
There's no chemistry between any of the stars, and there's a puzzling lack of energy.
Doris Toumarkine
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
Lies dormant as a movie.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
A nice old-fashioned romance -- how refreshing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Arthur Lazere
culturevulture.net
January 1, 2000
Thanks to a nicely written screenplay and intelligent direction, the soap stays reasonably bubbly and doesn't leave a sticky feeling on your skin.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
January 1, 2000
The Love Letter is so slight, so insipid, that a viewer can scarcely find much therein to love or hate.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Mark Caro
Chicago Tribune
January 1, 2000
Although the movie's affection for its characters is refreshing, none of them stirs our passions.
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
January 1, 2000
An especially affecting love story!
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
You're left wishing you'd never opened this letter.
Page 1 of 3