An Ideal Husband - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

An Ideal Husband Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Carlo Cavagna
January 1, 2000
Pleasantly diverting, but unlikely to inspire the kind of deep thinking about hypocrisy and unreasonable standards of virtue that Wilde intended
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Wesley Morris
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
A film that leans so heavily on its stars that their performances are marred by their emptiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
March 7, 2002
All this less-than-ideal Husband proves is there are few folks who have the sense to leave classic text alone.
Full Review | Original Score: short
Susan Tavernetti
Palo Alto Weekly
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
It kept making me wonder if I was enjoying it. The frustration of this experience is that I feel guilty about not recommending it, and I'd feel just as guilty if I did recommend it.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
James Brundage
January 1, 2000
Their entire world was constructed around subtlety, and, in tune with that, the one word that can be used to describe An Ideal Husband is subtle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
[T]his Husband plods and ambles and bears the burden of a soundtrack that resembles a wimpy meditation tape.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
Alas, something went wrong between stage and screen...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4

E! Online
January 1, 2000
This Husband tries desperately to squeeze itself into the trim style of other bustle and bonnet faves, but it's a bad fit.
Full Review | Original Score: C

Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012
Parker's shuttlecock technique only succeeds in throwing Wilde's cascading rhythms seriously out of whack and makes it hard to attend to the language as fully as one would like.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
An Ideal Husband works because Wilde created an expert mechanism (kind of slow-motion serious screwball comedy) for manipulating the plot and characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
January 1, 2000
An irresistible concoction of brilliant dialogue, sumptuous set design, top-notch acting, and a plot littered with Machiavellian twists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
James Rocchi
November 7, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
Much of the four acts of An Ideal Husband, a serious comedy, is constructed out of flip one-liners, most of which remain, though Parker has added a few, all unworthy of the master.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
Certain stretches truly sparkle, but the movie is not as inventive as The Winslow Boy, nor as relaxed and goofy as Midsummer[night's Dream].
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
I felt like I was being one-lined to a loving death in this elegant Oscar Wilde comedy/drama costume play...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
I liked Oliver Parker's film adaptation even better, for reasons I can sum up in two words: Rupert Everett. And not cuz he's scrumptious. Or gay.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Rob Blackwelder
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Arthur Lazere
January 1, 2000
It is, of course, an ensemble piece and the entire cast brings it together with skill and style under Parker's skillful direction.
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
March 3, 2002
The drama boasts a treasure trove of witty dialogue and some fascinating characters who are forced to prioritize their values in strange circumstances.
Page 1 of 4