Animal Farm - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Animal Farm Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2016
Based on George Orwell's classic novel, Animal Farm is a powerful allegory about political corruption and class warfare. Fed up with the abuses of their human masters, the animals on Mayor farm stage a revolution and take control, but once in power the pigs set themselves up as a ruling class and make the other animals subservient. Featuring the voice talents of Kelsey Grammer, Ian Holm, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, and Patrick Stewart, the film has quite an impressive cast. Additionally, Jim Henson's Creature Shop does some extraordinary work with the animal puppets. On the other hand, the CGi is rather hit and miss (especially the mouth moments). Yet despite whatever problems it has, Animal Farm is faithful to Orwell's original work and retains its ever relevant message about power corrupting.
August 8, 2016
Fucking horrifying. Animals are fucked up! And pigs are assholes.
½ February 19, 2016
This book was so good. Why did they have to make it into a low budget live action motion picture. It ruined the story. There was no emotion and the CGI was terrible. It came out in 1999. The Phantom Menace came out in 1999. Even though the CGI was advanced in The Phantom Menace, you would think that they could give us something better than Pre-Historic CGI.
October 19, 2015
Well, trying to put a good ending on this story is much like trying to put a monocle on a pig. It just won't stay! This story is about the abject failure of socialism whoever tries it...people or animals! Sadly, the pinkos in Hollywood tried to clean this up, blaming the pigs instead of the system. Also, a television? Really? (Of course, they had to have an episode between Jones and Mr. Pilkington's wife.)
Super Reviewer
August 19, 2015
The production work is great, but it misses the point of the book and completely screws up the ending.
½ June 4, 2015
You can tell a lot of effort went into it, but Orwell's message is bogged down by the family-friendly atmosphere.
½ March 19, 2015
It gives no justice to the story it originated from, and it exercises little of the social commentary that it supposed to have.
March 10, 2015
The book is much better than this movie! However, it did the best it could offer. Animal Farm still demonstrates the same message as the book did with communism being a fairytale to individuals who want equality. For that, good job.
March 7, 2015
Give that a higher percentage.
½ March 6, 2015
I've watched that in English class after reading the book.
½ November 25, 2014
not very good at all. Some books just should not be made into film adaptations.
January 25, 2014
A really good book and story gets ruined with this childish adaptation. The animation is really bad, and the intelligence of the book is seemingly lost.
August 7, 2013
Didn't finish this one. Don't waste your time trying to and skip to the cartoon; they censor themselves less
June 17, 2013
made bite-sized and delectable for children. butchered too much for adults. orwell must be rolling in his grave
½ June 3, 2013
A stupid and insulting take on George Orwell's classic novel. Ever seen the animated movie? Watch that!
May 17, 2013
Well written. (but with a few differences from the book)
½ March 30, 2013
Certainly imperfect, with slightly crude, cliched voice casting, this film has many strong and striking scenes that I remembered from my middle school viewing of this. The allegory is played out well, though obviously with less detail than the book, and the themes are important to all of humanity.
March 29, 2013
This movie should be good. The legendary book by George Orwell tells a good story, and has many unique elements to it. However, the trailer to this movie is unquestionably the worst movie trailer I have ever seen. It portrays the movie as a Disney-alike film about animals, which at first made me think it was a joke trailer. But no. After reading the book, watching the movie is the ultimate cheese-fest. Major's death, the Sheep's bleating, and the discovery of Major's head are almost unbearably bad, as their significance is almost dumbed down in some cases, and the plot is changed in the movie in so many cases to dramatize it. Also, unnecessary scenes such as the Mr Jones and Mrs. Pilkington "sex" scene are completely unnecessary: it is not in the books, it has no precedent, and it leads nowhere as a plot device: it is basically just a gratuitous sex scene. However, the movie is charming in it's own way, as it achieves Birdemic: Shock and Terror levels of "so bad it's good". If you watch the film, it can be a good laugh, as you try to identify all the changes in plot and the abundance of cheesy moments. This movie is worth a watch, even if only so that any movie seems good after it. It is in no way, however, a good movie, just a funnily bad one.
½ March 12, 2013
what a stupid film.what a waste of time.
you will not belive I actually only saw this because the English Teacher that i had in my third year in secondary school made us study it. why? because it appearantly contained propaganda well it did have propaganda that even my dog would not fall for.
It came out in 1999 ,the same year as American Beauty,Fight Club and The Matrix .3 films that are easily all at least 30 times better than this garbage this is the worst animal movie i have seen i hate it so much ,worst animal film I've seen ,and that is saying a lot since i have seen Cat-woman ,jaws 2-4 ,Mega Shark Versus Giant Octopus and actually like The First Garfield movie.
if you want to watch a film about talking animals i reccomend you watch Babe or Garfield. If you want to see a good animal film watch Jaws or Old Yeller
Page 1 of 13