Romance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Romance Reviews

Page 1 of 14
September 10, 2016
Bitch doesn't shut the fuck up, nor does her supervisor. Hot, really nice ass for skinny girl. Not as much action as I wanted
October 25, 2015
"I gave my son his father's name. If someone up there counts souls, then we are even."
½ October 17, 2013
A dysfunctional relationship, French art house style. Not perfect, but there's more to it than it first appears.
April 19, 2013
as a masochist, I loved it. maybe it's just me....
January 7, 2013
This movie has a couple of unforgettable scenes! Drags a little but it kept my interest.
½ December 28, 2012
Unique story but could've been more in terms of acting
July 5, 2012
Oh, wow. Not at all what we expected. Bizarre and not in a good way. How do things like this get onto my radar, let alone onto my Netflix queue?
½ June 19, 2012
Very interesting. Incredibly... aloof?
May 15, 2012
I like the plot of story in Romance. That's why I give it 4 stars.
May 8, 2012
Greatly erotic and sensual art film, that turns out to be a little misogynistic.
January 22, 2012
wtf?? how the hell did this shit get on my faves??
January 13, 2012
Gave this one a re-watch, it still holds up as well as a detached, clinical look at a failing relationship can.

Catherine Breillat has always made film that I more respect than like, as they tackle uncomfortable subject matter that you don't see in the average run of normal cinema.

Worth a rental, if only to see a part of the weird cinema conventions that happened in the late '90s and early 2000s, as real penetrative sex made its way into certain bits of French Indie cinema.
½ January 11, 2012
The utter patheticalness of the main character can be grating, and every person seems to be sexually repressed and suffering from some kind of psychological pathology (except, weirdly, Siffredi's character). So if you're into that. I would say it's less a good film than an interesting one.
shitfaced8
Super Reviewer
August 11, 2011
Don't let the title fool you. If anything this is anti anything the word Romance might imply. A really clever, dark psycholgical erotic drama that is at times pretty disturbing and should appeal to fans of films like Breaking the Waves, Secretary or The Piano Teacher. Caroline Ducey was great in the leading role. Really cold, subtle and real performance for sure. The overall tone and pace of the film can be described in the same way, so might alienate some viewers, but this still has a very engaging story that kept me intrested from begining to end. Features a very realistic birth scene which is difficult to watch. Recommended.,
dietmountaindew
Super Reviewer
½ July 24, 2011
if you wish to preserve any of those idealistic notions about womankind (about yourself, if you were woman), stay away from any picture made by catherine breillat, whose viewpoints toward woman are the most misogynistic than ever!
½ July 22, 2011
Pretentious French crap of the highest order.
July 9, 2011
Actually not so romantic at all. Not much of a pretty story it was so bizare of a troubled and deluded french teacher likes to have disgusting sexual pleasures. Lame and quite easy to forget.
½ July 3, 2011
The mother creates a son and the son creates a mother''... gave me a lot of thinking... still thinking !!
½ May 20, 2011
Hilarious flick with maybe, maybe, an ironic title. Or not, who knows? I really don't know what to make of this film, kind of like In The Realm of the Senses. With our heroine's narration (I don't care what stuffs my cunt) and a creepy old man telling her that all women want to be raped (a paraphrase) makes for some good old fashion belly laughter. Add in bondage, unsimulated sex acts, including scenes with porn star Rocco Siffredi, you get...Romance. Irony?
Page 1 of 14