Journey to the Center of the Earth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Journey to the Center of the Earth Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ October 24, 2014
It hard to know where to place blame for this film's lack of an audience connection: a terrible script that makes stilted decisions, wooden acting, or a director seemingly uninterested in any of it. Nonetheless it might pass kiddie review standards ...
September 4, 2013
Ever so unfaithful and extremely long, this 1999 adaption overstays its welcome. The video cover boasts dinosaurs and adventure, but both are little in presence. The characters are alright, and the casting is fine, but in the end they play out and eventually become boring. Sleestak rip-offs really didn't add much danger. While Journey starts off good, you'll wish it was an hour or so shorter.
January 13, 2013
Not Bad Special Effects, Not Bad Suspense. This Slow Burn Sc-Fi Mini-Series Is Loosely Adapted From The Novel Of The Same Name By Jules Verne. This Is Yet Another Version Of The Classic Novel, That's Not Close To The Original Source Material (As Most Of Them Are). This Version Is Directed By George Miller (Director: Mad Max Trilogy), & Stars Treat Williams, Tushka Bergen, Jeremy London & Bryan Brown.
September 19, 2012
i love this book when i was still in elementary and i love this version from hallmark, eventhough it was just a tv-movie version its way better than the movie done by brendan fraser.
½ November 5, 2011
Nada a ver esse filme!
½ June 17, 2011
eh. watchable, once.
December 14, 2009
The most WTF film ever
December 7, 2009
want to see on DVD?
October 10, 2009
Rubbish script writing, poor camera angles. Acting is rather flat. Special effects are mixed. Costumes and makeup are fairly good.
Overall not a movie to be taken seriously and seems like a very low budget B grade movie, but it does have some very funny scenes with the New Zealand Maori people.
Super Reviewer
December 30, 2008
There seems to be so many versions of this tale! I like the whole concept though.
Great film. Acting isn't too shabby.

Treat Williams is good, as is Jeremy London.
If you want a story that has two rival tribes - (Who suprisingly both speak English although no suprise that the females are far more intelligent that the males), lots of dinosaurs, average acting, but a tale that will keep you hooked, then check this out.
Although the ending for me was such a let down. They might aswell have ended it with 'and they all woke up'.
November 17, 2008
like this movie because I love the book :))
November 7, 2008
It probably would have been better in 3D
½ November 1, 2008
I had low expectations, but still was hoping for something entertaining. I was wrong, this movie is dull, boring and bland. Very bad cast, horrible script, mediocre direction, terrible photography (it feels like a movie made for TV), overall not very impressed since they the had excellent material from Vernes to start with.
½ October 22, 2008
What a horrible movie, I fell asleep, dear god. Maybe if it was in 3d it would've been better, but KILL ME! HOrrible hated it!
October 20, 2008
This 2008 movie update of Jules Verne's classic sci-fi/fantasy novel uses the 1864 tale as a template, with its hero, scientist Trevor Anderson (Brendan Fraser), referring to his missing brother's notes on the novel. His nephew Sean (Josh Hutcherson) in tow, Anderson travels to Iceland to investigate his sibling's theories, enlisting a fellow scientist's daughter, Hannah (Anita Briem), as a guide. Soon the trio's Icelandic mountain trek descends into a cave and, then deeper still to, naturally, the center of the earth, where dinosaurs and other strange prehistoric creatures still dwell. After many dangerous encounters with the native flora and fauna, Trevor, Sean, and Hannah must find a way back to the surface or face being stranded miles below the earth's crust. Directed by Eric Brevig, a veteran Hollywood visual effects supervisor (MEN IN BLACK, THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW), JOURNEY TO THE CENTER OF THE EARTH clearly delights in unveiling eye-catching CGI creatures and landscapes. Presented in some theaters in 3D format, the film features lunging beasts and vertigo-inducing visions, which are effective even in 2D, while Fraser, working in the same amiable vein as the MUMMY movies, provides a human focus amidst the special effects. For fans of the ever-likable Fraser and/or the JOURNEY story, there is plenty to enjoy in this effects-heavy adventure film.
October 18, 2008
the most awesome movier EVER!!!
September 13, 2008
Eger ki 3D ise 4/5 hatta ve hatta 4,5/5 :P
Eger ki 2D ise oylamaya gerek yok :-)
½ September 9, 2008
Helen: He's going to the center of the Earth. You get dizzy on the botton rung of a ladder.
Jonas Lytton: Not the *bottom* rung.
½ September 1, 2008
I saw the film in Spanish but even thiugh it seemed to be a pathetic american interpretation. It´s a shame that this nice book has been adapted in such an trivially comercial way.
August 25, 2008
i love this book when i was still in elementary and i love this version from hallmark, eventhough it was just a tv-movie version its way better than the movie done by brendan fraser.
Page 1 of 2