High Fidelity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

High Fidelity Reviews

Page 1 of 9
February 10, 2014
Cusack has ineffable charm, but he keeps it tuned at the lowest possible frequency.
January 1, 2000
Uniformly shallow and vapid.
| Original Score: 3/5
August 2, 2002
It contains too many repetitive scenes.
January 1, 2000
...the plot could have been better explored if it was discovered what the plot was.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
Isn't all that romantic and is only half as funny as it thinks it is.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
There's not much to convince you that High Fidelity isn't a vanity production with some good tunes.
January 1, 2000
I didn't see this movie because I was miserable that evening, I was miserable that evening because I saw this movie.
| Original Score: 5/10
January 1, 2000
So much care has been contributed to the soundtrack that director Frears has forgotten about the importance of the film itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 10, 2014
When happiness does arrive in this movie, it has the air not of something that you reach, like your top speed, but of something that you give in to, like baldness or old age.
January 1, 2000
Instead of burrowing into Rob's life, we feel like we're skimming across it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
The insistent verbal nonsense among them wears thin very fast for folks who don't keep their vinyl collection in plastic sleeves. Absolutely, this is a romantic comedy that preaches to the converted.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 6, 2001
It's got great music -- and great music trivia -- but a shaky soul.
March 6, 2001
Stephen Frears ... seems on unsteady ground converting an essentially British story (the novel was set in London) to the American idiom.
March 6, 2001
Other than those rare giggles or guffaws, High Fidelity is strictly analogue.
July 31, 2002
... a bright entertainment that doesn't insult its audience ...a romantic comedy built on a determinedly limited scale
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: B
January 1, 2000
Movies this wry and likable hardly ever get made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Stands out as a 'small' motion picture that deserves wide exposure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2010
Funny, neurotic, and charming, but not for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 10, 2014
As for Mr. Cusack, there's nothing potential about his stardom any more. He's the self-doubting, self-flagellating, self-ironic soul of "High Fidelity," and he's great.
October 11, 2011
Easily makes it onto my top 5 John Cusack movies list.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 9