The Patriot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Patriot Reviews

Page 1 of 7
January 29, 2005
Bloody, overlong and straining for significance ...
Read More | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
There's not much to get excited about.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Gibson gives a mechanically precise but soulless performance in which he seems more concerned with how he looks than what his character is thinking or feeling.
January 1, 2000
Like the war itself, it's too long and too bloody; unlike the war, it doesn't pay off in the end.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2000
There's no majesty, no tragedy, no feeling here; it's all FX and costuming and casting directors.
October 24, 2001
There's some good stuff here -- far more than one would think, considering the source -- but it never quite puts it all together.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Robert Rodat's script is specious and false on every level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
Reflects our wish to redeem ourselves through sacrifice. But that entails more than briefly nodding to our flaws, magnifying what we like best about our past, and waving it around, hoping the euphoria will resolve any contradictions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 30, 2003
The Patriot is best when it focuses on Gibson. Unfortunately, half the time it focuses on Ledger.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
The Patriot has the look and feel of an epic, but none of the actual feeling that would make it memorable leaving it to rank as a major disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
I had an ugly feeling when I left the theater, like someone was trying awfully hard to sell me on patriotism.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 27, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
A gruesome hybrid, a mix of sentimentality and brutality that suggests a Lethal Weapon movie directed by Norman Rockwell.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
A movie of cornball sentiment, humorously anachronistic dialogue, and expensive Colonial Williamsburg sets.
January 1, 2000
So the result -- in spite of the puffy white shirts, mussed ponytails, 13-starred American flags and nameless slaves -- feels more like 1996.
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
It seems certain that whatever extraordinary ingredients are necessary to fashion a 1776 home run, this movie doesn't have them.
June 18, 2002
Emmerich's battle scenes may look authentic to anyone who has ever stared hard at a history book, but in every other way the film is long, empty and bogus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 26, 2013
has its moments
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 12, 2007
While his hero is conscience-stricken about killing, Emmerich sure enjoys serving it up in generous helpings.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 7