Beautiful - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beautiful Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 2, 2005
...one of that growing genre of mainstream Hollywood shots at the main chance -- an unfunny comedy.
Read More | Original Score: D-
January 1, 2000
A movie with so many inconsistencies, improbabilities, unanswered questions and unfinished characters that we have to suspend not only disbelief but also intelligence.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Some will argue that this review is cruel, and they may be right -- but so is being losing two hours of one's life to this inexcusably bad tripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
This movie has no point of view, a wildly inconsistent tone, and no understanding of its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 30, 2010
Beautiful is just bad, sadly. Where's the plot?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 1, 2000
It manages to find an almost pitch-perfect accumulation of ill-matched tones, sheer grotesquerie, near-heroic absurdity and self-canceling folly.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
January 1, 2000
Every mushy element of the script is robustly wrung for every last drip of sap.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
May 24, 2003
Pior do que a direção de Sally Field, só mesmo o caráter desprezível da personagem principal: uma mulher egoísta, fútil e irritante. Ao longo do filme, eu não queria apenas que ela perdesse o concurso; queria que ela sofresse.
| Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
The movie is so nasty to its mostly female characters that it feels harshly misogynist.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/5
January 1, 2000
Certainly the beauty biz deserves better than the antsy and dispiriting Beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 1, 2000
Sally, get it straight: Mona doesn't deserve to be cheered. We don't like her. We really, really don't like her.
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: D
January 1, 2000
As predictable as a beauty queen's tearful acceptance speech.
January 1, 2000
Guys, quick huddle here. If your girlfriend even suggests seeing this movie, you might want to consider these time-tested words: 'Satan, go ye hence from the soul of my girlfriend. I shall not abide thy evil channeling.'
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
January 1, 2000
The kind of movie that connoisseurs of bad cinema will really, really like. Rarely does a movie go so thoroughly wrong in so many ways.
January 1, 2000
Sally Field's directing is unindictable, but the script and the acting are close to grotesque.
January 1, 2000
An odd and disjointed mixture of satire, straight comedy and syrupy melodrama, the film simply doesn't work.
January 1, 2000
Beautiful ain't. Sally Field may be proclaiming "You like me! You really like me!" behind the camera, but don't be egged on.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Page 1 of 4