Get Carter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Get Carter Reviews

Page 1 of 29
April 18, 2016
Made it about 15 mins into the movie and had to turn it off. Beyond boring and went nowhere fast. Was hoping to enjoy it a little bit. Had great actors.
½ April 7, 2016
Stallone has a couple of scenes where he amazes with his acting otherwise fairly forgettable. I enjoyed the soundtrack-watched this on the treadmill. yvr as Seattle
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ March 26, 2016
There's allot of hate towards this film which I understand but having never seen the original I cant compare, Ok yes it's slow, Dark and gritty but the story isn't half bad and told pretty well, Stallone has some flashes of good acting, He also tries to make it less gritty by wearing suits and shades, Like I said the plot was ok but there's a sub plot that brings itself up for no reason at random times and has no connection to the main story and just felt like a time filler, There's not allot of action and the ending wasn't as great as I hoped but it's not a terrible movie but it's nothing you won't want to watch again in a hurry but each to their own.
½ December 14, 2015
Sylvester Stallone's career took a turn for the worst here with "Get Carter," a dry action film about revenge. Jack Carter returns home to his brother's funeral and decides to solve the mystery surrounding his brother's death. Perhaps the only thing interesting about the film is the friendship made between Jack and his niece, but even this is marred by a plot twist that's handled with such discomfort that it doesn't seem to belong in a movie with the Italian Stallion. Also starring Michael Caine, from the original "Get Carter," and the ever-so-versatile Alan Cumming, I really expected more from this movie. But the film loses its steam after the opening credits.
October 9, 2015
Sadly this lacks any of the edginess and cool of the original. Despite a seasoned performance from Stallone, the happy ending and overall tone is off - especially in comparison the original.
½ June 1, 2015
I really liked the original and this aint close to that movie but it is not the horror show the critics make it out to be either.
September 23, 2014
nothing special a boring movie
September 7, 2014
Bad movie. The plot doesn't know if it wants to be supportive of revenge or anti-revenge, the action itself is ok, the style is good at times, and the performances are so-so, the best probably being Cook.
July 27, 2014
(First and only viewing - 7/31/2010)
½ April 29, 2014
Being a more modern Sylvester Stallone action film, there are notable differences to his old films.

For one thing, the music is really well placed and sounds cool, and rather than just being a mindless action flick it's got a more character driven story. Also, the quality of the cinematography from several creative angles makes the entire film's style out to look really good.

The action is well paced and not over the top. It's realistic and doesn't move too quickly too keep up with. Plus, choice to cast Sylvester Stallone, Mickey Rourke and Michael Caine who have all been nominated for best actor at the oscars one time or another ensures that the all star cast becomes a crowd pleaser.

I personally loved almost a lot of the aspects of the film, so I guess criticism would have to be based on the fa that it was a remake, and remakes are near-impossible to get right. But if this wasn't a remake, it would have got better reviews. I'll have to see the original sometime
March 9, 2014
Jack Carter (Sylvester Stallone) is a hardened Las Vegas loan shark collector. Carter has spent his life collecting for other people - debts, agendas, retribution. He stands alone and always stands apart. But when his brother is killed in an accident, it takes Carter home to Seattle...to the family he abandoned and to a mystery that will tear his life apart.

When Carter discovers his brother was in fact murdered, the purpose of his journey home changes from redemption to revenge. In his rage induced quest to bring down the men who killed his brother, Carter soon becomes embroiled in a deadly web of intrigue involving an internet porn ring, local mobsters and a corrupt computer billionaire.

also stars Miranda Richardson, Rachael Leigh Cook, Alan Cumming, Mickey Rourke, John C. McGinley, Rhona Mitra, Johnny Strong and John Cassini.

directed by Stephen T. Kay.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
February 16, 2014
The remake of Get Carter is really a mixed bag. I view it as a mediocre movie, one that relies on a formulaic storyline, and poor performances from those involved. I really wanted to enjoy this movie, but this was a tedious affair, one that fell short of its potential. Sylvester Stallone is a good actor, but here he is wasted, and as an action picture, Get Carter just doesn't deliver the thrills that it possibly good. The film feels predictable, rushed and overdone, like the filmmakers tried way too hard at masking a revenge themed action movie, and in turn the results are unimpressive. This is the type of film that you really want to like, but can't due to the fact that the formula has already been done before, and much better as well. I felt that Get Carter could have been much better, and though it had a good cast, the writing just failed to grab your attention. The film had some decent action scenes, but nothing really that stood out to truly make this a memorable actioner. Sylvester Stallone has done far better wo0rk, and considering that was made at the start of the 2000's. However it would be a few years till Sly would get his groove back, and retain that same edge he had back in his heyday. With this movie, he just doesn't deliver anything worthwhile for fans, and it's a shame because if the story would have been a bit more developed, then I think that the film would have succeeded in being a memorable action film. As it is, it's a mediocre movie, one that doesn't stand out, and isn't anything worthy in the long run.
January 14, 2014
Stallone in a nervous thriller/revenge film. It's not his best ever but the film packs enough punch & twists you'll be entertained and have some fun.
January 4, 2014
Pathetic remake - a 1st rate Hollywood crime
December 4, 2013
a lacklustre revenge where Stallone plays Jack Carter who is avenging his dead brother. This feels pedestrian and dull at times and it's not helped by Stallone's wooden and 2 dimensional. Towards the end of the film I wasn't even bothered about the film ended, I had actually lost interest in the storyline and the characters within it.... I've not seen the original so I can't compare but I'm sure it wouldn't be as bad as this.
½ August 18, 2013
Slow, disjointed mess.
June 15, 2013
Disappointing remake of the classic Michael Cain British crime film. Stallone is good and there is a decent cast that includes Mickey Rourke, Alan Cumming, Gretchen Mol, Rachel Leigh Cook, Miranda Richardson Martin Landau, and the original JackCarter, Michael Caine. Tyler Bates also has a good score for the film that includes portions of the original film's Roy Budd score. However, this film is painfully over-directed in a way that distracts from what should be a stripped down, tough-as-nails story of revenge. What this story needed was a director more like Walter Hill and less of a director trying to ape Tony Scott or his music video progeny.
½ June 7, 2013
Poor Stallone vehicle that showed he longer had the capacity to choose a project of any substance. This film was on the decline of he's career and failed at the box office.
Stephen Kay was never the correct director for this type of film. He lacks the restraint to create a film that would have worked better as a noir. The film moves a lot and the poor direction leaves you lacking any character creation.
The story was interesting but you always knew who the baddies would be thanks to the casting. The film at its core would of been interesting but sadly under Stallone & Kay the film is mind numbing. Stallone is just so flat and uninteresting to hold your interest. I would have liked him to use some of the Copland acting to create something of interest.
This is simply a poor action film, the story should of been more in line with the old school style of filmmaking.
May 30, 2013
This movie is a good example of why, in my opinion, the official ratings by Rotten Tomatoes, made by the so called (professional) critics, are generally worthless. Currently this movie has a rating of 12% according to Rotten Tomatoes which, of course, will lead everyone not aware of how crappy their system actually is to believe that the film is utter crap and that is really utter crap.

This movie is nothing fantastic. It would even qualify as a B-flick, but it is not really bad. It is a nice enough action/thriller flick to kill an evening with without really getting disappointed. I have not seen the original one so I am not pre-conditioned against this movie which perhaps helps.

Sylvester Stallone does a quite acceptable performance in the role of the silent and threatening mob enforcer. He plays as you would expect him to do and if you do not like Stallone, well then there is not much to do about it. Personally I think he has his style and I like it and do not really want him to change it just because some critics find it "lacking".

The movie itself and the story is also fairly okay. Again nothing fantastic or particularly innovative but good enough. It has its ups and downs though. Especially in terms of pacing which is a bit uneven. Sure, not everything can be car chases or fist fights but when it slows down it really slows down. Even though it is a gangster/action/thriller movie it is not overly violent. As a matter of fact it is fairly tame in the sense that, as soon as someone actually gets killed this happens off the scene and is left to the viewer's imagination. A bit silly if you ask me but it did not really bother me too much either so.

Close to the end the director indulges himself in some very annoying psychedelic flickering scenes, presumably to hide some of the violence in the final fighting between Stallone and the bad guy. That did bother me. I really do not like such epilepsy inducing nonsense. Not that I have epilepsy but it still strains my eyes and really bother me.

Anyway, it was a decent enough movie and certainly good enough to get, at least, an average rating.
April 30, 2013
I really can't see what people hate about this film. I love it.Just as Cobra; I wish it had become a franchise like Rambo and Rocky.The direction and edition are both remarkable, the action scenes were ahead of its time, Sylvester Stallone will never be Lawrence Olivier but for action figures he and Mickey Rourke were pretty good. Michael Caine doesn't disappoint and more than anything the film has a pretty good plot.Again; it can't be compared to a movie made by Kubrick, Polanski or Ang Lee. But it's an action movie, which very well can be compared to Predator, Die Hard, or any Tarantino/Nolan/T.Scott films. Just watch without prejudice.
Page 1 of 29