Someone Like You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Someone Like You Reviews

Page 1 of 58
½ February 15, 2016
A great premise, ruined by poor writing and directing, saved by Ashley Judd and Hugh Jackman, with Greg Kinnear not bad. Judd is a revelation, a much better actress than she's generally given credit for.
½ February 12, 2016
I'm a sucker for this shit.
January 23, 2016
Kinda of a snooze......
½ November 9, 2015
It was an OK movie. The plot was thin and pretty crazy.
August 15, 2015
odd film that doesn't sell on the chemistry between its leads. Well cast and original but doesn't deliver. Romantic comedies are a dime a dozen but you need to have the simple aspects correct.
August 11, 2015
Everyone involved has done much better elsewhere. Judd, in particular, is impossible to watch. Unbearable.
½ July 18, 2015
a super duper chick flick with a totally predictable ending.
½ July 14, 2015
Boa sessão da tarde. Filme leve e despretensioso. O elenco está em ótima sintonia.
Super Reviewer
June 27, 2015
Judd and Kinnear are good enough for this but Jackman is the main reason to watch this so-so rom com.
April 24, 2015
This movie has one saving quality - it's actors. With actors like these, it makes you stick with the movie just to see if this cliche steaming pile of... well... improves.

It doesn't.

Ashley Judd seems to have shied away from her usual 'woman with a brain' roles in this cliche romantic comedy and at times it's cringe worthy. Fortunately, she has the charm to get away it in most scenes.

Greg Kinnear and Hugh Jackman offer ordinary performances, making one wonder whether all involved in this film were just after some extra cash.

The movie does produce some amusing moments, but in the end there's nothing new here.
½ April 22, 2015
It's not going to win any awards but it's a pleasant enough watch. Has some genuinely sweet moments and Hugh Jackman is just adorable!
November 20, 2014
Was rooting for Hugh Jackman and Ashley Judd from the beginning.
½ November 13, 2014
I watched this when I was sick in bed with the flu and it was kinda perfect. A breezy romantic comedy that sees a very likable Ashley Judd looking for true love. When she gets dumped by her boyfriend (Greg Kinnear) she tries to recover by researching male mating patterns; comparing them to that of wildlife, (bulls, dogs, old cows etc) while also sharing an apartment with her co-worker pal (a super sexy Hugh Jackman).

So yeah, this is a totally predicable chick-flick but I liked everyone in it. The story was fun and easy, as was a younger Hugh Jackman playing the charming womanizer (easy on the eyes that is). For some inexplicable reason (because I don't usually notice these types of things) I also really liked Ashley Judd's wardrobe here, but that may have been the cold medication. Also includes Marisa Tomei, Ellen Barkin and a lot of smoking, which I guess people still did back in 2001. *sigh* 11/7/14
October 26, 2014
well crafted rom=com
September 4, 2014
a cute idea, but a rom com is a rom com
½ August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - December 2009)
July 22, 2014
mediocrity thy name is "someone like you". this movie was such a typical, cookie-cutter rom-com that it almost made me mad. then i remembered that in 2001 the genre was probably not as exploited as it is now so i calmed a bit. but seriously - these characters are so irrational and unlikable, especially the protagonist, who seems to just cry around after one guy and hail a crusade against all men, until the next guy comes along at which point she turns into putty in his hands. the sad thing is this kind of behaviour is common in women and maybe this film would have worked as a sort of externalized study of why women have to be so fixated on men, always engrossed in either loving them or hating them, and never taking a moment to form identities outside of their relationships. but as it stands, this film condones all these misogynistic views and labels itself feminist.
July 2, 2014
After being jilted by her boyfriend, a talkshow talent scout (Ashley Judd) writes a sexist column accusing all men of being cheaters, which gains her national fame.

also stars Hugh Jackman, Greg Kinnear, Marisa Tomei, Ellen Barkin, Catherine Dent, Peter Friedman, Laura Ryan and Naomi Judd.

directed by Tony Goldwyn.
March 18, 2014
Ashley Judd is pretty good in this romantic comedy. Hugh & Greg are great to compliment the story!
January 16, 2014
A teoria da vaca nova hahaha
Page 1 of 58