Uprising - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Uprising Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 16, 2015
so important to know that there were ghetto uprisings in Poland. I never learned about them in school. inspirational heroes are represented by an all star cast, doing terrific work to portray them.
½ October 22, 2014
Rebelión en Polonia [2001]
July 19, 2014
Great movie. another WWII masterpiece
May 28, 2013
a different side of the hollocaust
½ April 18, 2013
Dreadfully sorry to write this, still I have one request. Do not try to treat this move as a history lesson. I think the screenplay writers did not pay much attention to gathering a reasonable database about Warsaw Ghetto. Therefore, the chronology is seriously distorted, especially in the first part of the movie. Still, this is the only movie about available. Still, I advise not to treat Jon Avnet' s impression as the one and only truth about Warsaw Ghetto.
With great respect for The Heroes Of The Warsaw Ghetto,
Polish - Jewish

PS: Do not mistake The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising from April 1943 with The Warsaw Uprising from August 1944. I know it may not be easy to understand, unless being Polish.
Take Care!
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2012
Very good made-for-tv mini series. Plenty of stars, thoughout. As a made-for-TV movie, this really does excel. The sheer scale of it is impressive enough, but in addition to that it is well paced, well written and well acted (with the exception of David Schwimmer who I just can't get past seeing him as Ross). I, also, learned a lot about the Jewish Polish resistance during WWII which I knew little about. Nice job!
December 1, 2012
its rly sad and Stephen Moyer he looks so hot in the movie ut hes not the same...im so happy he lives...
½ October 11, 2012
This is a well orchestrated telling of a true story. After Germany invades Poland in 1939, the Nazis decree that 350,000 Warsaw Jews be forcibly moved into an area known as the Warsaw Ghetto. The director and his casts did this film justice by capturing the heartache and misfortune of the oppressed Jews during this unforgettable era. Thousands of Jews died due to rampant disease and starvation under the SS. It may not be as brilliant as The Pianist but it is one that not to be missed.
½ June 28, 2012
Solid entertainment. Inspirational story, well-acted, but definitely has a network movie ambience to it. Wouldn't consider this a must see, but those who choose to invest their four hours won't be disappointed.
June 16, 2012
I would have rated it a 4/5 if the Germans spoke German with subtitles
May 30, 2012
As great as it is sad. A story of real heroes versus the crazy world they lived in.
May 13, 2012
A solid network effort about heroism in a most immoral world.
½ March 17, 2012
Uprising, is a brilliant effort on the real-event of uprising against Hitler's Nazi, from bunch of resistors.
Quite a dramatic film, and as powerful as any other film on horrors of World-War II.
March 11, 2012
A solid but uneven effort by director Jon Avnet. This is also one of those films that is proof positive Hank Azaria is one hell of an actor.
½ December 30, 2011
This is a well orchestrated telling of a true story. After Germany invades Poland in 1939, the Nazis decree that 350,000 Warsaw Jews be forcibly moved into an area known as the Warsaw Ghetto. The director and his casts did this film justice by capturing the heartache and misfortune of the oppressed Jews during this unforgettable era. Thousands of Jews died due to rampant disease and starvation under the SS. It may not be as brilliant as The Pianist but it is one that not to be missed.
November 6, 2011
Great faithfulness to the true lives of the Ghetto Uprising. The plot, however, is lacking in cohesion and the characterizations are somewhat 1-dimensional.
½ October 23, 2011
Si on sait que le ghetto de Varsovie a été liquidé par les Allemands en 1943 (en partie grâce à Spielberg et sa magnifique Liste), la révolte armée des Juifs de ce même ghetto est beaucoup moins célèbre.
Jon Avnet a donc décidé de nous rappeler cette histoire, en se basant sur des personnages ayant existé. Cela débouche sur un bon scénario, structuré, fourni, et surtout prenant : on s'engage volontiers aux côtés de ces résistants, se battant sans autre espoir que celui de sauver leur honneur. Le réalisateur (également au scénario) a la bonne idée de ne pas tomber dans le mélodrame, ce qu'on apprécie particulièrement lorsqu'une histoire vraie est contée.
Si le fond est donc une réussite, la forme est classique, et le manque (relatif) de moyens du film se fait parfois sentir. Heureusement, le casting de haute volée (Voight, Sutherland, Azaria, Schwimmer) ne déçoit pas : c'est l'élément qui finit de convaincre le spectateur.
August 30, 2011
It started out kind of slow but picked up and it was amazing!!!!
½ July 31, 2011
a must see if you are interested in 2nd WW films...
Page 1 of 7