Home Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Home Movie Reviews

Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
November 15, 2002
Smith finds amusing juxtapositions that justify his exercise.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jane Sumner
Dallas Morning News
September 26, 2002
Mr. Smith makes us look afresh at our own digs and at, as the old saying goes, what makes a house a home.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Mark Rahner
Seattle Times
July 19, 2002
At just over an hour, Home Movie will leave you wanting more, not to mention leaving you with some laughs and a smile on your face.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
July 10, 2002
I like this movie a lot. I like that Smith, he's not making fun of these people, he's not laughing at them.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 28, 2002
[Smith] simply celebrates the universal desire to fashion our homes for our needs and desires.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Petrakis
Chicago Tribune
June 27, 2002
Smith is careful not to make fun of these curious owners of architectural oddities. Instead, he shows them the respect they are due.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 21, 2002
Seems like someone going through the motions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Paul Malcolm
L.A. Weekly
June 1, 2002
What's most striking about this largely celebratory film ... is the sense of isolation that permeates these bastions of individuality in an Ikea world.
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
May 24, 2002
An engaging documentary about people who live in unusual homes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
May 21, 2002
Smith profiles five extraordinary American homes, and because the owners seem fully aware of the uses and abuses of fame, it's a pleasure to enjoy their eccentricities.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
May 10, 2002
A distinctly minor effort that will be seen to better advantage on cable, especially considering its barely feature-length running time of one hour.
Top Critic
Megan Turner
New York Post
May 3, 2002
The perfect comic timing of the editing takes full advantage of the humor inherent in the owners' unself-conscious earnestness.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Dennis Lim
Village Voice
April 30, 2002
The film is slight but sweetly inquisitive, and its participants are endlessly fascinating.