Home Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Home Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 6, 2012
Home Movie - Christopher Denham(Absent sur Flixster)Visionné dans le cadre du festival Fantasia 2008.Dix films échelonnés sur deux ans au Festival Fantasia. Un seul grand gagnant: Home Movie.Si je vous disais que Home Movie, mon coup de coeur du Festival, est un conte d'horreur réaliste sur une famille américaine, une fenêtre euphoriquement ouverte sur la haine et le non-sens du rêve américain... Et que je vous disais par la suite que l'horreur est justement le genre cinématographique que je déteste le plus au monde parce que j'ai l'impression qu'il me fait perdre mon temps... Cela suffirait-il pour vous convaincre de son unicité?De toute façon, vous auriez probablement bien du mal à aller le voir, car Home Movie n'a, à ce jour, trouvé aucun distributeur qui acceptait de se risquer dans la commercialisation de ce dernier, quand bien même l'incroyable Adrian Pascar (Heroes) aurait la principale tête d'affiche dans ce film d'horreur filmé à la caméra-épaule. Lorsqu'il est question de l'importance du médium, il faut dire que Christopher Denham a bel et bien exploité les avantages que lui permettaient la caméra-épaule tandis que la famille Poe se laisse tranquillement décortiquer sous les yeux des spectateurs à la manière d'une viande crue.David, prêtre protestant, et Clare, psychiatre renommé, font l'achat d'une caméra pour filmer leurs ébats familiaux avec leurs deux enfants, Jack et Emily. Ce qui est intéressant dans cette intrusion mondaine, c'est que le spectateur se retrouve rapidement coupable de voyeurisme, et qu'il devient malgré lui un pervers forcé d'assister à la déchéance des enfants Jack et Emily, dont le comportement se transforme progressivement en un condensé de violence et de tortures. Tour à tour, la religion et la science sont au coeur d'un débat éthique sur l'éducation contemporaine, et leurs défauts se font de plus en plus distincts au fur et à mesure que les deux disciplines échouent lamentablement. Forcés d'abandonner la soutane et les médicaments, David et Clare n'ont plus d'autres choix que d'enfiler leurs costumes de parents pour tenter d'avorter le comportement dissident de leurs rejetons.Révolutionnaire à sa manière, Home Movie fige le temps et propulse l'auditoire dans un univers déjanté où aucune solution ne semble appropriée à l'épouvantable infamie qui frappe la famille Poe. Définitivement à voir et à revoir.Clare: It proves that there are no good child, that there are no bad child. It proves that there are only diagnostics.
lesleyanorton
Super Reviewer
½ October 15, 2010
Documentary about five different homes and the people who live in them. I particularly liked the pragmatic Japanese-sitcom-acting Hawaiian lady and her treehouse in the middle of nowhere, but all five had their qualities, not least a conviction in their way of living that was engaging to watch.
I like unconventional people. Ben Skora's soap dish was freaky though.

From HENRIKSCHUNK's favourites list
Super Reviewer
½ October 10, 2010
Fascinating documentary depicting lives of people who have a 'special' and unusual way of creating their immediate home. Be at the man living on a boat in the everglades, the cat family or the kooky inventor who plans to be reborn in a humanoid robot he built.An entertaining, yet enlighting view of how people are able to construct their lives according to their own beliefs and imaginations.
July 17, 2010
Home Movie - Christopher Denham(Absent sur Flixster)Visionné dans le cadre du festival Fantasia 2008.Dix films échelonnés sur deux ans au Festival Fantasia. Un seul grand gagnant: Home Movie.Si je vous disais que Home Movie, mon coup de coeur du Festival, est un conte d'horreur réaliste sur une famille américaine, une fenêtre euphoriquement ouverte sur la haine et le non-sens du rêve américain... Et que je vous disais par la suite que l'horreur est justement le genre cinématographique que je déteste le plus au monde parce que j'ai l'impression qu'il me fait perdre mon temps... Cela suffirait-il pour vous convaincre de son unicité?De toute façon, vous auriez probablement bien du mal à aller le voir, car Home Movie n'a, à ce jour, trouvé aucun distributeur qui acceptait de se risquer dans la commercialisation de ce dernier, quand bien même l'incroyable Adrian Pascar (Heroes) aurait la principale tête d'affiche dans ce film d'horreur filmé à la caméra-épaule. Lorsqu'il est question de l'importance du médium, il faut dire que Christopher Denham a bel et bien exploité les avantages que lui permettaient la caméra-épaule tandis que la famille Poe se laisse tranquillement décortiquer sous les yeux des spectateurs à la manière d'une viande crue.David, prêtre protestant, et Clare, psychiatre renommé, font l'achat d'une caméra pour filmer leurs ébats familiaux avec leurs deux enfants, Jack et Emily. Ce qui est intéressant dans cette intrusion mondaine, c'est que le spectateur se retrouve rapidement coupable de voyeurisme, et qu'il devient malgré lui un pervers forcé d'assister à la déchéance des enfants Jack et Emily, dont le comportement se transforme progressivement en un condensé de violence et de tortures. Tour à tour, la religion et la science sont au coeur d'un débat éthique sur l'éducation contemporaine, et leurs défauts se font de plus en plus distincts au fur et à mesure que les deux disciplines échouent lamentablement. Forcés d'abandonner la soutane et les médicaments, David et Clare n'ont plus d'autres choix que d'enfiler leurs costumes de parents pour tenter d'avorter le comportement dissident de leurs rejetons.Révolutionnaire à sa manière, Home Movie fige le temps et propulse l'auditoire dans un univers déjanté où aucune solution ne semble appropriée à l'épouvantable infamie qui frappe la famille Poe. Définitivement à voir et à revoir.Clare: It proves that there are no good child, that there are no bad child. It proves that there are only diagnostics.
December 22, 2009
Chris Smith's follow up to "American Movie" is not quite as good, but interesting to say the least. He does a very good job at finding some of the most interesting (and sometimes odd) people of our culture and capturing them on camera.
July 26, 2009
Chris Smith, who directed the great 1999 documentary, "American Movie", about an aspiring horror director from Wisconsin, returns to subjects who would be called "eccentric", to say the least, in "Home Movie". But, just like he did so so eloquently in "American Movie", he doesn't judge these people. Instead, he seems to be showing us "outcasts" who simply do what they love. His films are a full embrace on the individual, and both of these films show us people with tremendous creativity and vision. You may call them strange, but these are real people who are fully in touch with their dreams and desired way of living.

"Home Movie", running just over an hour in length, introduces us to five subjects who live in peculiar homes. Smith doesn't introduce himself to us, nor does he pry in any of his philosophy about these particular subjects. The film, instead, is simply an observation of how these people have adapted to meet their needs.

Bill Tregle lives in a houseboat in Louisiana, but it's not your typical houseboat. Perhaps "house-boat", is more appropriate, as it simply looks like a typical well-furnished home floating on water. He makes a living by selling alligators, and takes Smith along to some of the most beautiful sights the river has to offer.

Ed and Diana Pedan live in an underground missile silo that's been converted to a home. Not only do they have ample living space, but they're well equipped for a nuclear attack. Ed gives us a tour of his home by standing on an open field and claiming that his family room is below.

Bob Walker and Francis Mooney have given their home to their cats. It's been furnished with tunnels and walkways suspended from the ceiling - a sort of playhouse for the couple's eleven felines. No less a playhouse is the home of Ben Skora, who has a house familiar of an episode of Star Trek. Everything he owns is automatic, with rotating rooms and even a robot that brings him soda.

The last subject is Linda Beech, who achieved fame as a soap opera star in Japan despite not knowing much Japanese. She lives deep in a rain forest in Hawaii, far separated from society, in a gigantic treehouse. She has her own waterfall, and cannot fathom how people could live without one.

The homes here are obviously splendid to be taken through, but it's the people, not the houses, that are the stars of the film. They're all highly endearing, well-spirited, and passionate people that you would love to spend a weekend with. Just, you know, maybe not high in the trees of a secluded rain forest.
June 13, 2009
Wonderfully unique and entertaining documentary by the same director of "American Movie" - I totally enjoyed it and highly recommend this movie - Everyone's got a story :)
March 12, 2009
An interesting documentary on folks around the U.S. who's home are more than just a little different than the norm. A houseboat in Louisianna, a tree house in Hawaii, a fully electronic house, a refurbished underground bunker from an old missle base and a "cat house" only this time it's a house that ha been completely adapted to keep a couple's 11 cats happy.
½ February 10, 2009
This is quite an amusing documentary, which takes a look at five unusual and quirky homes. I just wish there was more attention given to the underground home. This is short enough to be worth your time.
½ January 2, 2009
I thought it was too short. I wanted to keep watching, especially the lady on Hawaii!
October 7, 2008
really interesting portrait of odd people and the odd homes in which they inhabit
Super Reviewer
September 22, 2008
These people are odd birds.
½ July 10, 2008
Fascinating, somewhat like a train wreck. This played frequently for awhile on IFC and I was drawn in each time I noticed it playing. The alligator guy rocks. The robot guy disturbed me just a little. All were great characters.
½ July 9, 2008
Wow... the alligator guy is something else. I'm going to search for the Hawaiian tree house on my journey here... don't think I'll find it.
½ July 9, 2008
Not as good as American Movie, but nonetheless highly enjoyable.
June 24, 2008
How do you follow up a masterpiece like "American Movie"? Well you gotta just try i guess. This isn't bad just not quite as interesting as Mark Borchardt. This movie kinda reminded me of Errol Morris's lesser works.
June 6, 2008
Great characters and homes, but it lacked conflict to drive the narrative and the ties between the subjects could have been more clearly drawn, instead of just being, "all these weirdos have weird houses."
June 4, 2008
"American Movie" had a lot more going for it, but this was pretty interesting. Some of the coolest houses around.
April 2, 2008
Fantastically entertaining!
March 2, 2008
back in the day, when i used to have movie channels.... i could watch this movie about 3 times a day. and i did, without ever getting sick of it.
Page 1 of 3