The Guru - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Guru Reviews

Page 1 of 22
½ April 14, 2016
karma sutra on the big screen!!! Fifty shades of grey in a Indian style kinda. From ex-Corrie star to big Hollywood names, this film has so much charm and comic style in this under rated classic. young Indian guy travels to America to become a actor/dancer but things changed when he is confused as a Sex- guru, with help from porn star and a American Princess with contacts, He turns into the king of sex with comic and very heart-warming consequences. funny, romantic and a true Indian charm, one of a kind original film and always can be enjoyed for ever.
P;S you will want to go to a Indian restaurant afterwards
½ September 7, 2015
The cast and setting in New York City was worth one full star more than I would have given this movie otherwise.
August 11, 2015
Funny with a heart and soul
½ March 24, 2014
love is unpredictable.
½ September 28, 2013
(When I saw the previews for this I thought it looked absolutely stupid so I was not expecting much. What I got, despite it's hokey humor at times, was a film that ended up being quite charming). I like it more and more every time I see it. It is truly one of my guilty pleasures.
March 17, 2013
The best comedy you've never seen! Rent it tonight. "Grease"-loving, western culture adoring Ravi leaves India with only the love of dance in his heart. He hooks up with misguided socialite Marisa Tomei and takes lessons from porn star Heather Graham on how to be a sex guru. Cheesy Bollywood musical numbers only add to the fun. You'll be singing for days.
February 20, 2013
I'm not going to lie, the only real reason i watched The Guru was that i like Heather Graham, and hearing that she takes the part of a pornstar might be sexy and nostalgiac like in Boogie Nights.
In Actuality, The Guru was largely bereft of laughs or much of a strong premise, but it did have a certain lebel of sweetness to it and a good cast, as well as a decent, albeit inconsistent screenplay.
Jimi Mistry was a fairly charming lead with a convincing indan accent, and he delivered his lines well.
Heather Graham is as sexy as ever and gets enough screentime for the audience to witness her skills as an actress and even laugh here and there.
Marisa Tomei is as sweet as ever and supplies good support to Mistry's character.

Unfortunately, The Guru isn't that funny or romantic and just seems like a half-improvised parody of every romantic film ever made. It's colourful, but shallow and lacking in any interesting themes. Even it's exploration of sex falls abysmally short, and Marisa Tomei's character ends up seeming pointless because of the unbalanced plot dynamics.
So overall, The Guru had a charming cast but came from and went nowhere, and the only memorable thing about it is that theres a series of bollywood dance offs in it, because the 2 times i laughed is too small for a comedy.
December 15, 2012
love it it is soo funny
December 7, 2012
This was very good enjoyed it. Sex filled and comical!
November 21, 2012
it was ok but I thought it could be better but I don't think I'll watch it again, I don't think I'll watch it again, it starred Heather Graham, Jimi Mistry and Marisa Tomei, it was ok but I'm not bothered of seeing it again
½ August 17, 2012
Shows how people can be taken in by packaging. I thought it was a fun movie even with the cliches.
July 24, 2012
This is a hilarious movie that does not get the props it deserves. Even Heather Graham could not ruin this movie for me.
Directors Cat
Super Reviewer
December 5, 2011
The film lacks any big laughs and you'll probably forget you saw it an hour later. It has its moments and its sweet but is let down because of its water thin plot and lack of anything we haven't seen before.
December 2, 2011
The Guru had a unique premise to start with, however it just wasn't executed to it's full potential. Tracey Jackson was not able to put together a stunning script. There were some amusing scenes that gave me a few laughs, but the scenes that were meant to be moving can't be described as much more than cute. The characters were a bit dry in character, but to make up for it the acting wasn't terrible (with a few unpleasant exceptions). I wasn't particularly impressed with some of the accents in this movie, especially Mistry's, that seemed really inauthentic. Although it wasn't as deep as you'd expect from a film titled "The Guru", it did have some good messages regarding morality, honesty, integrity and being true to oneself. A satisfactory watch overall, but not spectacular.
½ October 10, 2011
Super light weight, time filler comedy.
September 23, 2011
silly Bollywood rip-off. heather graham playing a what? porn star? where have i seen that before........
½ June 13, 2011
This is by no means a good film but with Tomei and Graham in it i did enjoy.
½ June 11, 2011
So weird and disturbing...
½ May 30, 2011
While charming at times, I have a feeling that during the film's making, a bunch of executives realized the film was highly unoriginal, and so they decided to fill it with a lot of sex just to balance everything out.
½ April 29, 2011
Ridiculous, but awesome for what it is.
Page 1 of 22