Down (The Shaft) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Down (The Shaft) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 2, 2015
Did this really happen? "The Shaft" (a.k.a. "Down"?) is the most absurd premise since "Birdemic: Shock and Terror." Well, it actually came out nine years before "Birdemic" and managed to precede the recent trend of campy, absurd horror films. The truly disturbing part is the $15 million budget. There is no way that this film is intentionally bad. The special effects, while not the most impressive in the world, were obviously an investment. And what is Naomi Watts doing in this movie!?!?!? I realize that she really struggled to make it in Hollywood for a while and this did come out before "Mulholland Drive" boosted her career, but then what are Dan Hedaya and Ron Perlman doing in it? I truly believe that this was intended to be a serious film, so how did anybody think that this script was acceptable. The dialogue is simply horrible, both due to the way that it is delivered through poor acting and the dialogue itself. The premise is... well, this is a movie about a killer elevator. With artificial intelligence. And I don't understand how anybody thought that this could be taken seriously: "Now we've spent years establishing the fact that elevators are one of the safest modes of transportation. We have to! We live in a vertical world! If we can't trust elevators, what the [expletive] can we trust?" Proceed with caution if you elect to endure "The Shaft." It is fun to watch if you enjoy watching entertainingly bad films - I'll give it an extra star for unintentional comedic value - but you may want to drop your expectations before seeing it.
December 17, 2013
Millennium building elevator starts killing people.
½ May 14, 2013
Not the worst movie I've ever seen. But producers can do better than killer elevators. Pretty boring throughout, all you want to watch is the end.
February 24, 2013
This is a porn movie in the making.
½ May 30, 2012
Just watched this. Naomi Watts actually didnt do too bad for a B movie flick and shows some of the stuff that will eventually land her the bigger roles later. A fun horror flick if such a thing exists. Not great not horrid. Just there.
½ May 23, 2012
Pretty entertaining, elevater becomes alive and starts killing people.
May 6, 2012
Mediocre horror film that offers nothing special.
½ April 1, 2012
God Sci-Fi needs to start playing better movies on Sundays.
½ March 23, 2012
Amoug the worst films of the last decade...
January 28, 2012
Naomi Watts, Michael Ironside and Ron Perlman in a movie about a haunted, killer elevator. Sounds like it would be good, right! WRONG YOU GOT "THE SHAFT." I think the fact Naomi Watts got to play a reporter/journalist in The Ring didn't come from how well she did in Down as a reporter/journalist because she was TERRIBLE in this movie!!!! It's amazing that only a year later she played a reporter and was actually good. Baffling!
½ December 4, 2011
it has its ups and downs i like the cast its a decent horror b movie
Super Reviewer
June 7, 2011
A very good horror flick with an interesting plot.
½ May 23, 2011
it has its ups and downs i like the cast its a decent horror b movie
May 17, 2011
Nice movie. No realism. No horrorscenes - but quiet funny!
January 22, 2011
Fine, so anyone who has seen the original Dutch movie, sees more of the same, only with more money. Thought the two main actors do a good job at keeping it real, the others clearly struggled with the script or the character given to them.
January 20, 2011
Well what can I say... It`s a great action/horror movie. Naomi Watts and James Marshall are just super cool there!
½ August 31, 2010
This is just hilariously bad. I was laughing on the floor it's so bad. I saw in the description on TV "this creepy direct-to-video thriller" and couldn't resist. The plot is about a living elevator that's killing people. Is this supposed to be frightening? By the end of the movie I wouldn't have cared if the elevator killed everyone. Actually that would have been fantastic. It would have been way more entertaining than the lame ending we get instead.
August 16, 2010
Oh, there's a shaft in this warp-speed direct-to-disc production all right - - and the viewer gets it.

The elevator unexplainably starts and stops. And the buttons don't work. Ooooh, creepy. Fifteen minutes of vapid subplot filler. The elevator gets stuck with a group of pregnant women on board for a few minutes. Ooooh, creepy. Ten minutes of vapid subplot filler. When the doors open and there's no elevator there, a blind man steps right on up and falls to his doom. Ooooh, creepy. Ten more minutes of - - oh, well, you get the idea.

Eventually, believe or not, the President of the United States declares a national emergency and cordons off the area. Pseudo-investigative reporter Watts discovers - get this - the elevator's computer chips are made using human brain cells. Some gooey elevator ectoplasm is found.

Then when our unlikely and ill-equipped hero, the lonely elevator repairman, starts messing with the goo, the elevator gets really, really mad. Sheeesh.

The director - who was actually here rehashing his own earlier UK film "The Lift" to snag an easy paycheck - knew this stinker was DOA from the get-go, so he didn't even bother to inject any spooky score, fear-mongering SFX or elevator anthropomorphism.

Sometimes B-films are good for some campy fun - but this clunker can't even stake that claim. Don't let the marquee names bait you; even Naomi Watts completists won't miss a beat if they pass this one by.

Even so, I do appreciate Sci-Fi Channel's running this one at 3am, that being a valiant attempt to relieve me of my constant insomnia. If only it had worked.

RECOMMENDATION: Take the stairs and get out of the building. Now.
Page 1 of 5