Spellbound - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spellbound Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 29, 2003
It's a commendable attempt to bring an overlooked and fascinating subject to the screen, but the approach is surface oriented and perfunctory, and I didn't really find myself moved, edified, or enlightened by the experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 2, 2003
Blitz is not a filmmaker interested in his subjects, but only in manipulating their experiences for entertainment value.
June 1, 2004
One of the words that came up in the competition was hellebore - which was ironic, because it was exactly at that point that I realized I was hella bored with this film
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 21, 2003
At one point, I sat back in my chair, and celebrated the fact that I knew the film was only half over.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 29, 2005
...an effervescently charming film
Read More | Original Score: A
July 24, 2003
When the spellers arrive for the National Bee, Blitz imagines the lobby waterfall of the DC Hyatt as the New Eden of the American Dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 16, 2003
We cheer for all of these kids, because it is so easy to remember the pain of getting something wrong in front of the whole class.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 14, 2003
Blitz's affectionate visual wit and instinctive dramatic flair as he carries us through the finals make this a delightful account of American class ambition, albeit with a dark undertow.
May 27, 2003
It is one of the most genuinely thrilling, touching, and purely enjoyable movies of the year.
Read More | Original Score: A
December 28, 2010
Families should see this m-a-r-v-e-l-o-u-s film.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 26, 2003
We watch the film as though it's one of those tear-inducing Olympics featurettes about the Argentine swimmer who promised his dying mother he'd bring home the gold.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 7, 2003
It might be spellbinding, but the theming of this indie documentary is mismanaged and it lacks a voice for its subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 8, 2003
The finest documentary ever made on the fine art of speling.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 19, 2003
... one of the most entertaining and involving documentaries of the last few years.
May 29, 2003
It is hard to imagine a more suspenseful, engaging or emotionally satisfying movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 28, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 16, 2003
Despite its somewhat skin-deep look at these talented youngsters, Spellbound's charm and allure is undeniable.
| Original Score: 3/5
May 31, 2003
I almost hate to tell you it's a documentary, because I'm afraid you won't believe me that it's the most entertaining, suspenseful film I've seen all year.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 22, 2003
Who would have thought that following eight kids as they prepare for and compete in a national spelling bee could be so riveting?
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 23, 2003
A nailbiter in the finest tradition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 7