Big Fish - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Big Fish Reviews

Page 1 of 11
January 12, 2016
the father-and-son story to beat all father-and-son stories
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 22, 2010
Delightful, sad father-son story for teens and up.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2010
Reliant more on powerful familial emotions than wacky splendor, "Big Fish" treads as close to our real world as Tim Burton ever could - a melancholy dissection of paternal distance and never truly knowing how many lives those we love can truly affect.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 21, 2009
Burton, favoring form over content, flavor over fact, has been often criticized for not knowing how to bring his work to satisfactory resolution. But I'd call that a good thing. Blame it on his dad.
April 29, 2009
Burton invokes the imagination from his crowd and succeeds in making us gasp in wonder.
October 18, 2008
Never has going fishing or getting caught been such a treat.
July 23, 2007
I enjoyed Big Fish more than any film Burton has been involved with since maybe Nightmare Before Christmas.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 1, 2006
For the first time since Ed Wood, Burton has transcended his hermetically-sealed world and connected with wider concerns.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2005
A tale that's so enriching, so heartwarming, so funny, so touching and so breathtaking, you'll wonder why the king of wackiness didn't branch out sooner.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 6, 2005
Big Fish is a stunning piece of work that is not only sincere and full of passion, but is based on a world that is normal...well, about as normal as you're going to get for a Tim Burton movie that is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2005
Think The Arabian Nights meets Grimm's Fairy Tales with just a touch of Forrest Gump and The Wizard of Oz tossed in for good measure.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 11, 2005
Plays to Burton's strengths as an auteur of fantasy colliding with reality.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 5, 2005
The film's core is all heart, but surrounding the dramatic moments is a pure sense of humor that generated more genuine laughter than any comedy I've seen in recent years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2005
An ebullient tall tale about the magic of imagination and the power of myth.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 2, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 5, 2005
Big Fish is, in the end, a small tale, but it's a beautifully told one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 15, 2005
[Burton] celebrates the empty imaginings of the lost, because he assumes there is no real liberation, there is no glory awaiting us, except that which we invent for ourselves.
Read More | Original Score: B-
December 16, 2004
Un film délicieux que l'on écoute avec légèreté et qui fait passer un bon moment grâce à son humour, sa féerie, mais aussi dans la façon dont il nous touche.
| Original Score: B+
October 30, 2004
Burton has crafted a sweet yet bizarre film seeming at times like 'The Twilight Zone' in Oz.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: A
August 25, 2004
...there's never been a less ambitious Tim Burton film
Read More | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 11