The Company - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Company Reviews

Page 1 of 7
March 23, 2013
A minor work in the oeuvre of Altman or producer Vachon, this behind the scenes dance film exhibits the director's stylisic devices but lacks fresh and poignant insights.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 20, 2013
Read More | Original Score: C+
December 28, 2010
Excellent look at what goes into creating ballet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 4, 2009
Dance sequences, both in the studio and in performance, make up the symbolic and potent thrust of this enjoyable yet confined movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 29, 2009
A film about the dance world that really reaches out to everyone.
April 25, 2007
Eschews any concern with the cinematic foreground in favor of wide-angled pans across an expanded back cast encouraged to indulge in Altman's trademark overlapping dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 5, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 2, 2005
...can be read as a movie about movie-making, about how casts are assembled and tricked...into yielding something more profound than they might have thought themselves capable
Read More | Original Score: B-
September 23, 2004
[Altman] fondly documents the ins and outs of this notoriously exotic gang of artists as if he were an amateur anthropologist smitten by an eccentric tribe.
June 20, 2004
My feeling is that The Company is meant to be enjoyed just as we would enjoy the dance it chronicles. It's a miscalculation, but not a grave offense.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 17, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 14, 2004
The venerable Altman's distinctive eye remains undimmed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 5, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 28, 2004
By the time Campbell and her partner pair off for ... "My Funny Valentine," the film has become a love letter to the expanding the limits of artistic expression
April 9, 2004
The real star of this movie is dance, and [director Robert] Altman -- with cinematographer Andrew Dunne -- has captured some of the finest footage I have seen.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2004
The extended dance scenes don't match the experience of watching ballet live but The Company succeeds in conveying the fluid grace, the beauty that's possible in dance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 21, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 19, 2004
Altman ... whose intuition for placing the camera in just the right spot has always been impressive. In the dance scenes, it's flawless.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
March 11, 2004
It never bored me, but it never truly moved me either. I liked it, but I wanted to fall in love with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 27, 2004
What we're left with mostly ... is an appreciation of how much (literal) blood, sweat and tears go into preparing for those few precious moments of effortless-looking movement under the lights.
Page 1 of 7