The Girl Next Door - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Girl Next Door Reviews

Page 2 of 568
April 9, 2015
There were nudity and swearing, yet it was funny and suspenseful, and there was a good message in the story too. All in all, it was kinda cute and lots of exciting things happened.
Wouldn't recommend watching it with your grand/parents or young kids, but it is a fun film.
March 8, 2015
Another one that got on top during a long distance from high school time graduation, also can be viewed as the worth movie, that deserves to be seen again!!!
½ February 23, 2015
Um nerd acaba se apaixonando por sua vizinha maravilhosa que também gosta dele... porém o mesmo descobre que ela já foi porno, e está para regressar ao mercado após eles brigarem... o mesmo arruma uma baita confusão para tirar ela desta furada...
February 14, 2015
i want to see it just cos elisha cuthbert is in it, i miss her from 24
December 29, 2014
Not bad.. But not be seen around kids..
½ October 13, 2014
Probably has the best kiss scene ever, just saying
October 7, 2014
It's a funny teen comedy, that is bogged down by much stupidity.
September 26, 2014
86%
Watched this on 26/9/14
The movie borrows heavily from Risky Buisness? Seriously, are you kidding me? The Girl Next door is one of the finest adult comedies that I have seen of late and believe me, the movie has nothing in common with Risky Buisness. This film is extrmely pulpy and it's directed to make it so I believe. This film has earned it's shear watchability from it's outstanding cast, which includes a good performance from Emile Hirsch and the stunning Elisha Cuthbert.
August 14, 2014
I wish I didn't, but I liked it.
Super Reviewer
August 10, 2014
Aside from it feeling a tad long and having multiple conclusions, "The Girl Next Door" is a very funny coming-of-age story that is not your average way of telling it. Emile Hirsch is hilarious here as a high school senior who falls for the girl next door, whom he soon finds is a former porn star. Driven by morals he sets out to make her think she is more than she thinks she is. While giving some flavour to his boring life, he is also helping the people around him and those are the emotions to look for through all this hilarity. Overall, "The Girl Next Door" has some clever dialogue, some that may fall flat, but charming for the most part, a cast that is irresistible, and a story that anyone who has been through high school can enjoy, even if they never had these crazy adventures. It goes a little too far sometimes, but I really really like this film.
August 6, 2014
great movie. Fuck what the meter says.
½ August 2, 2014
OK.But Some Good Parts.C+
August 1, 2014
One of my personal favorite movies because it's the entire package. It's funny, sexy, creative, unique, clever, and even relevant. I love this movie for the message it sends and the chemistry between the characters feels so real. Must watch!
3niR
Super Reviewer
July 27, 2014
Just another teen comedy movie with a bit of twist in it. Funny and also stupid at the same time. Sometimes it wouldn't even make sense. Watch it at your own risk like I did. You may end up liking it like other reviewers.
July 27, 2014
i watched this for the first time in awhile and i still love this movie...always makes me laugh and its romantic.
July 22, 2014
Fuck the haters. This movie is a surprisingly heartwarming coming of age tale with great acting, editing, and awesome soundtrack. Granted it does take a few wrong turns in the third act (the end is ridiculous)but that can be forgiven experience is worthwhile in the end.
July 5, 2014
One of the best movies I have ever watched. A perfect combination of comedy and romance.
June 23, 2014
The Girl Next Door is a movie that predominantly appeals to teenage boys, but it's still a decent watch for anyone else. It's a typical cute nerdy guy gets the hot girl cliché type of film but it's still good fun. The Girl Next Door is about nerdy Matthew Kidman (Emile Hirsch) who is due to graduate from high school and go onto study at the prestigious Georgetown University, however his focus completely changes when he meets, Danielle (Elisha Cuthbert), his next door neighbour's niece who happens to be house sitting. Matthew is smitten with Danielle and things go well between them until Matt discovers that Danielle is a former porn star. The story line is a bit daft and unrealistic and in the end it just ends up glorifying porn instead of condemning it and exposing it for what it is; seedy, exploitive and morally corrupt. Call me old fashioned but I just think that porn does more harm than good in our society and can be very damaging.

The acting was a bit shit, Elisha Cuthbert may have a pretty face and a hot bod (damn I wish I had a figure like her's), but she seriously cannot act. She's just a blonde Megan Fox that will never land a serious film role. It's sad how looks are more important than talent in Hollywood. How I wish there were more budding Meryl Streeps instead of Megan Fox and Scarlett Johansson types. Rant over! The only note worthy and good actor in the film was Timothy Oliphant, who plays Danielle's nasty ex boyfriend and porn producer, Kelly. Timothy Oliphant's character had more depth than any of the characters. The rest of the characters were a bit one dimensional. However overall, The Girl Next Door isn't a dull watch and has some humorous moments. Despite the bad acting, Elisha Cuthbert and Emile Hirsch kind of make a cute couple. If you find porn offensive and aren't really into cliché films about teenage boys wanting to get laid, then best give this a miss.

Grade: C+
June 18, 2014
Elisha Cuthbert and Emile Hirsch are hilarious, extremely entertaining, and very funny.
Page 2 of 568