Man in the Attic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Man in the Attic Reviews

Page 2 of 2
April 25, 2009
Excellent! Old suspense films offer so much more than those of today. This movie was absolutely fantastic. It built suspense, it had the perfect cast, and an intriguing story!
½ March 29, 2009
Maybe it's because I watched it right after "The Lodger," but it really suffered in comparison. The music hall numbers were absolute 1953, and destroyed the period mood. The heroine was a DOLT. It's one thing to tolerate your weird lodger like Merle Oberon does in the British version, but this woman listens to Jack Palance talking about how Jack the Ripper's not a criminal, just a man doing what he must do, and decides that he's "teh hawtness" and a viable love interest, and defends him from the cops and her family? Jesus.

One good point: Aunt Bea's accent made more sense in Victorian England than it ever did in Mayberry.
½ March 28, 2009
Interesting and suspenseful little chiller featuring Jack Palance in one of his first films, and Frances Bavier (Aunt Bee) as the suspicious landlady. Good atmosphere and acting. The 'cabaret' numbers seem out of place for a movie set in Victorian era England.
½ March 26, 2009
Public domain film of Jack the Ripper with Jack Palance arousing suspicion because he's weird. And, turns out suspicions are justified. Impressive police presence in London, with dozens of Bobbies running to crime scene within seconds.
½ August 18, 2008
Though filmed in 1953, the quality seems to be more reminiscent of 1931. Jack Palance is pretty shocking as a soft spoken british guy, especially since he still had the rugged cowboy looks. Not sure about the casting choice there, but it is entertaining to see him play such a role which is really wrong for him.
½ July 11, 2008
it's a jack the ripper movie...and it's pretty boring. i dunno what else to say except i wish this film had been one of jack the ripper's murder victims.
May 25, 2008
Kind of a dull take on Jack the Ripper. I kept hoping there would be more behind it but it didn't deliver.
April 7, 2008
Alright movie about a man (played by Jack Palance) who might or might not be Jack the Ripper. The only real reason to see this is for Palance.
April 7, 2008
A fairly good mystery involving Jack Palance as Jack the Ripper. Jack Palance looks so young and creepy!
½ March 12, 2008
Good acting all around.
½ January 3, 2008
One of Jack Palance's first roles and he does such a great job at playing a creepy version of Jack The Ripper. This movie actually has some great music as well and the story line is well put together. Top notch black and white!
½ November 11, 2007
not a bad little black and white flick from the 1950's. Palance is cool but what else is new?!?! Worth a watch.
August 19, 2007
I believe this is the first time I've seen Jack Palance not old n' grey. And he's still an exceptional actor through n' through. The plot of this film is a little thin, like a lot of earlier films .. it is what it is!

Palance is about the only notable talent in here -- the acting isn't dreadful, but it doesn't quite match up to him. It's worth a watch if you've got nothing else to do, but I wouldn't actively seek it out.
½ August 18, 2007
Could that nice young man who's renting our attic apartment actually be Jack the Ripper? Great early performance by Palance.
August 17, 2007
Minor film, certrainly not a big budget, but it has a good story, is well acted, short and fast paced. Atmospheric, nicely directed.
½ May 4, 2007
Predictable but I rather liked it.
January 6, 2007
Man in the Attic
Starring: Jack Palance, Frances Bavier, Constance Smith, Byron Palmer, and Rhys Williams
Director: Hugo Fregonese

A soft-spoken, socially akward patheologist (Palance) rents some upper-floor rooms from the Harleys (Bavier and Williams). His comings and goings coincide with the murders committed by Jack the Ripper, and when her showgirl niece (Smith) befriends the lodger, she begins to fear that the Ripper is living under her roof, and that her niece may become his next victim.

"Man in the Attic" is a well-acted, well-filmed little drama that suffers only from its story being a little too simplistic and straight-foward; it's basically a mystery with only one real suspect, as far as the viewer is concerned.) Palance in particular is particularly excellent as the suspicious patheologist Mr, Slade, giving a performance wher he is both sympathetic and sinister at the same time.

(Trivia: This is the fourth fillm version of the Jack the Ripper-inspired novel "The Lodger" that was made. The first one was a silent movie directed by Alfred Hitchcock. I'll probably get around to reviewing it some day.)
½ December 16, 2004
I really wasn't diggin this film as the preservation of it has been shotty at best. Thus you get the lines running through the film at times. Spots, static almost constantly and blurred imagery in the beginning. Still, the acting is good and Jack Palance is so freakin creepy. :eek:
Page 2 of 2