Spartacus - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spartacus Reviews

Page 1 of 7
½ October 30, 2013
This is a solid, well paced film. The chemistry is not always felt among actors, but everything else is good to go.
February 22, 2013
Decent version of the famous story with Goran Visnjic stalwart in the lead. Good production values and a consistent pace help this as well as many fine supporting performances, the best of which is given by the great Alan Bates, an actor of enormous scope, in his last role.
December 2, 2012
good but not as good as the original
August 29, 2012
I saw this movie only once, on History channel as a presentation or as a movie itself. I watched it in a full stretch and it never bored me even for an instant. The film has the most decent realistic stunts and a set and direction that makes it purely epic. The story is precise and perfect, the acting solid, the use of animation less battle scenes make this film praise worthy and more like the epic film 'Troy'. I really would wish to watch this film again. This film is much better than the other Spartacus movies and the serial which is hired on HBO.
½ August 3, 2012
04/08/12

Long movie!
June 9, 2012
Average for a TV mini-series production.
½ June 6, 2012
Outstanding. C'est ce qu'on dit, non?Décidemment, même en 1960, Kubrick savait comment métamorphoser un synopsis de base assez banal en une épopée épique fantastique qui allume les coeurs d'une manière pourtant bien cruelle. Même si Kubrick semblait posséder assez peu de latitudes en ce qui a trait aux modifications cinématographiques, on peut de temps en temps y déceler son empreinte et son influence, quand bien même ce fut le réalisateur Anthony Mann qui avait entrepris le tournage initial avant de se faire indiquer la porte de sortie par l'acteur/producteur Kirk Douglas.L'histoire de Spartacus en est une à déploiement faramineux, à un point tel qu'il vient impossible d'outrepasser la fascination que cela évoque chez nous, si bien que les quelques trois heures et quart en viennent à défiler incroyablement rapidement. Kirk Douglas offre une autre prestation sincère et son jeu d'acteur ajoute beaucoup au tragique de la scène finale qui, mine de rien, nous enfonce un pieu au fond du coeur...Naturellement, que je n'en voies aucun amorcer de comparaison avec Gladiator de Ridley Scott...[...]Doh.
May 28, 2012
es buena vale la pena verla chequela
½ May 28, 2012
ME GUSTA ESTA VERSION,,,,AUNQUE LA DE STANLEY KUBRICK ES INSUPERABLE,TAMBIEN ESTA ES FANTASTICA
½ April 22, 2012
es un buen punto intermedio entre la version de 1960 y la serie de television actual... pero de alguna manera le falta fuerza a la mayoria de los personajes...
January 10, 2012
Not Interested in television mini-series. i only prefer with kirk douglas and stanley kubrick in 1960 film version.
November 27, 2011
Straight-forward without a cliché in sight.
½ May 8, 2011
Outstanding. C'est ce qu'on dit, non?Décidemment, même en 1960, Kubrick savait comment métamorphoser un synopsis de base assez banal en une épopée épique fantastique qui allume les coeurs d'une manière pourtant bien cruelle. Même si Kubrick semblait posséder assez peu de latitudes en ce qui a trait aux modifications cinématographiques, on peut de temps en temps y déceler son empreinte et son influence, quand bien même ce fut le réalisateur Anthony Mann qui avait entrepris le tournage initial avant de se faire indiquer la porte de sortie par l'acteur/producteur Kirk Douglas.L'histoire de Spartacus en est une à déploiement faramineux, à un point tel qu'il vient impossible d'outrepasser la fascination que cela évoque chez nous, si bien que les quelques trois heures et quart en viennent à défiler incroyablement rapidement. Kirk Douglas offre une autre prestation sincère et son jeu d'acteur ajoute beaucoup au tragique de la scène finale qui, mine de rien, nous enfonce un pieu au fond du coeur...Naturellement, que je n'en voies aucun amorcer de comparaison avec Gladiator de Ridley Scott...[...]Doh.
½ March 5, 2011
3/10: A mediocre TV production. The main actor has got to be one of the worst actors around. However, the storyline has a great potential to be a great movie blockbuster.
December 12, 2010
This 2004 made-for-TV production tends to get overlooked, as it competes against the stellar cast and spectacle of the great Kubrik original and the wonderfully graphic spiling and exchanging of bodily fluids in the joy that is "Spartacus: Blood & Sand". But Spartacus (2004) is an excellent film in its own right, with some very good action and indeed pretty good acting all round.
Cameron W. Johnson
Super Reviewer
November 28, 2010
While not entirely as good as the original, it is still a powerful recreation of the original, holding vast amounts of respectful changes that will spark your wonder again. Of course, the film does still retain its good acting, compelling story, strong characters, excellent combat sequences, good directing, good writing and emotional power, which has even gotten greater. Still, there are a deal of other flaws that keeps this from matching the original, but that doesn't mean that it's not a true masterpiece.
½ September 7, 2010
its terrible !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
½ July 26, 2010
ME GUSTA ESTA VERSION,,,,AUNQUE LA DE STANLEY KUBRICK ES INSUPERABLE,TAMBIEN ESTA ES FANTASTICA
½ April 10, 2010
encouraging...bt kichuta "atlami" ache...the long 3D shots were incredible...
best dialogues -
i. if there is any God...he is not here...(Spartacus)
ii. i'll be back and i'll be millions...(David)
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2010
Decent version of the famous story with Goran Visnjic stalwart in the lead. Good production values and a consistent pace help this as well as many fine supporting performances, the best of which is given by the great Alan Bates, an actor of enormous scope, in his last role.
Page 1 of 7