Bush's Brain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bush's Brain Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 8, 2014
Interesting if nothing else; quite a few axes being ground.
July 15, 2011
Only a three, because I already knew all these stories about how scummy Rove and Bush were.
March 23, 2011
This doc's title refers to Karl Rove, who served as advisor to both George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush. The filmmaking team of Joseph Mealey and Michael Paradies Shoob look at Rove's beginnings as a school debating champion to an Republican attack dog, who led successful smears against Texas Gov. Ann Richards and Senator John McCain, among others. The film was completed before the 2004 election got into high gear, or else he'd be implicated in the swift-boating of Senator John Kerry. It's blatant propaganda, but one that makes quite a persuasive case.
½ December 4, 2010
If you only watch Fox New or listen to right wing radio this movie will confuse you, enrage you, cause you to foam at the mouth, cause you to scream at the monitor and make you run to Palin's chapter about the lame media seeking comfort. For the rest of us that are informed and educated you will find the movie compelling, informative and a compilation of facts that started surfacing when Rove started growing horns and a tail.
November 13, 2010
Bush's Brain finds some people to look at a handful of instances and say bad things about Karl Rove, for an hour and a half.
September 12, 2010
8 years was way too much.
½ November 6, 2009
the best parts of the documentary pertain to rove's early career, it gets a little obvious at the end of the film.
½ May 11, 2009
an interesting and frustrating documentary about a very controversial person: karl rove. i'll lay my cards out, anyone who knows me knows how i feel, i hate him. everything about him and the f--kin' chickenhawk administration of bush/cheney. scumbags, every single one of them. i'm disgusted... can't write anymore.
½ May 10, 2009
Old news but still disturbing.
½ December 13, 2008
Very good film but I often wanted more information. There were multiple accusations and insinuations that require a little more information in order for me to be convinced.
December 2, 2008
I didn't know he had one !!!
August 21, 2008
An information-heavy film that needed some creativity if it ever was to be interesting!

It made it's point that Karl Rove WAS Bush's brain early on. It did not require 80 minutes to do that -- maybe 15, at most.

Don't waste your time! You probably already know all you need before pressing play!
July 10, 2008
Watch this along with the movie "Outfoxed: Rupert Murdoch's War on Journalism" makes ya wonder who at Fox was won over by Carl Rowe!
½ June 6, 2008
Let me save you some time. Karl Rove is a sneaky little bastard that knows every trick in the black book of politics.
This pretty much put me to sleep.
May 17, 2008
If you want to watch a movie that tells you a play by play of Karl Rove's rise to power this is it. Surprisingly it doesn't attack Bush's intelligence at all as I thought it might. Just focuses on the evil genius of Karl. If you are into Politics and like documentaries this is a good one. The book it is based on is of course more informative.
May 9, 2008
Scary. Really scary.
April 29, 2008
Interesting information. I actually expected to be more of a comedy since I though the documentary was about George W. Bush but the documentary turned out to focus on Karl Rove so not a hint of comedy.
½ April 27, 2008
Rove gets the Kissinger treatment in this good, but awkwardly put together and politically motivated, documentary, which was released around the 2004 election. Rather than proceeding in a sensible, chronological manner, the film is more topical in nature. The result is a confused mishmash of segments about why certain politicians, journalists, and other assorted political victims don't like Karl Rove. Most of these assertions, while unsurprising and most likely true, still cannot be proven, and the film fails to justify how these manipulations are any more unethical in nature than those who have come before (Joseph Kennedy's Mafia connections during the election of 1960, etc.) The last bit of the film relies on the now clich├?┬ęd, hokey ending of a fallen soldier's grieving family. Although it's a point well-taken, it is a stretch to connect the war directly to Rove (especially when others such as Cheney and Rumsfeld are far more responsible), and the practice detracts from the film's objectivity. In hindsight, the film grossly overestimated Rove's power, who is now merely a Fox News analyst. The film will most likely be embraced as gospel by young idealists who see politics as a pursuit of social progress and not its reality as a Machiavellian struggle for power. It makes a strong case against the evils committed by the current administration, but the possibility of reformers on the opposite side of the political spectrum seeking to exploit public discontent with the war for their own political gain seems to be an idea that never dawned on the filmmakers or will ever dawn the anti-war public.
April 20, 2008
Never heard of Karl Rove? - watch this film then loose loads of sleep..
April 8, 2008
everyone MUST see this.
Talk about an eye opener.
Page 1 of 3