Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube has let so many of his hard edges melt off that he can't even manage a decent tantrum here.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 21, 2005
I would have loved to see a genuine love story involving Ice Cube, Nia Long, and the challenge of a lifelong bachelor dating a woman with children. Sad that a story like that couldn't get made, but this shrill 'comedy' could.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
January 21, 2005
How much sweeter Nick's heart-to-heart with Lindsey and Kevin would be if the movie was more than a clichéd journey.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
January 20, 2005
The longest, naggiest, car-sickiest travel with children is less tedious than this weak and dragged-out generic fluff.
| Original Score: C
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Less amusing than a game of license plate bingo.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
January 19, 2005
A commercial for Military School.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
January 24, 2005
Abandons modestly raucous situations and physical gags in favor of sentimental filler about assuming responsibility.
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
January 19, 2005
You think, Hey, these kids have put Nick through every conceivable indignity except kicking him in the groin! Then, sure enough, one of them kicks Nick in the groin.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
January 19, 2005
Is this what passes for family entertainment these days?
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
January 24, 2005
These kids are going after perfectly innocent nice adults. They are some of the nastiest children in movie history.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
January 20, 2005
The kids are so horrendous in road romp Are We There Yet? that Ice Cube turns out to be the adorable one.
| Original Score: 2/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
January 20, 2005
It's both a romantic fable and a hell movie for wannabe players - each in all the wrong measures.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Todd Gilchrist
FilmStew.com
January 20, 2005
If I hadn't spent the majority of the film's running time coming up with alternate titles (Is This Thing Over Yet?), I'd almost think that Cube had made a fruitful step.
Christian Toto
Washington Times
January 24, 2005
Ice Cube's Are We There Yet? strands the genial rapper in Home Alone-style high jinks
Full Review | Original Score: 2.4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
January 19, 2005
The type of fluff usually reserved for the likes of Tim Allen or a post-Nutty Professor Eddie Murphy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
January 20, 2005
It's like Planes, Trains and Automobiles, but with Steve Martin replaced by Ice Cube and John Candy replaced by two spiteful, hateful children who are unworthy of love.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
January 20, 2005
Are We There Yet? is an appalling experience that no adult (or kid for that matter) should be subjected to. On the plus side, it makes for great birth control.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
March 24, 2007
This somewhat schizophrenic comedy may be expressing Cube's own ambivalence about parting ways with his NWA inner bad boy and embracing fatherhood and all of its virtuous authority figure dimensions.
Full Review
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Gazette (MD)
January 27, 2005
The bad news is that the inclusion of a bobble-head doll is not the worst part of this disappointing family comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Page 1 of 6