Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
August 14, 2007
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
October 6, 2006
Are We There Yet? all too effectively conveys the claustrophobic horror of being shackled in a small space with two whiny, hateful children.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
Variety
January 25, 2005
A joyless road-trip comedy that's about as pleasant as a bad case of car sickness.
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
January 24, 2005
The gags seem pretty lame even by the standards assiduously applied by most 8-year-olds.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
January 24, 2005
These kids are going after perfectly innocent nice adults. They are some of the nastiest children in movie history.
Top Critic
Mark Holcomb
Village Voice
January 21, 2005
Lacks the courage of its grape-juice-, mud-, and vomit-spattered convictions.
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
January 21, 2005
How much sweeter Nick's heart-to-heart with Lindsey and Kevin would be if the movie was more than a clichéd journey.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Leah McLaren
Globe and Mail
January 21, 2005
Uh oh, pull over, I think I'm gonna be car sick.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
January 21, 2005
Worse than the crude humor is the movie's forced sentiment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
January 21, 2005
Is it over yet? Is it over yet? Is it over yet?
| Original Score: D
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube has let so many of his hard edges melt off that he can't even manage a decent tantrum here.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
January 21, 2005
Delivers on some pretty basic childhood fantasies -- chiefly, kids seeing themselves in control, and watching adults in comical pain. And it does it too quickly and competently for their grown-up chaperones to mind much.
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
January 21, 2005
Are we laughing yet?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Ted Fry
Seattle Times
January 21, 2005
The kids finally soften Cube's heart (and vice versa), get Mom to see past his scowl and into his kind heart, and become a wholesome unit that makes this a distastefully fit and formulaic family film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 21, 2005
Shows children behaving in ways that go right to the edge of absolute evil, and who are snotty and charmless besides. At the same time, the movie demands that we should feel warm toward those kids after all.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
January 21, 2005
Never quite arrives, and perhaps at a cost to Ice Cube's career.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Teresa Wiltz
Washington Post
January 21, 2005
We've got stereotypes-a-go-go: Raging redneck truckers. Accented Asians. Country bumpkins. Black fathers missing in action. The humor's a tad too raunchy for the kids, and the predictable plot won't win over any of the parents.
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
January 21, 2005
Phony and formulaic from start to finish, the movie may make some viewers feel as if they're trapped in a car themselves with a driver who won't pull over.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 21, 2005
I would have loved to see a genuine love story involving Ice Cube, Nia Long, and the challenge of a lifelong bachelor dating a woman with children. Sad that a story like that couldn't get made, but this shrill 'comedy' could.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube is an essentially soft-screen presence despite the assumed belligerence of his shtick. His knotted scowl hides a mushy middle of basic human decency.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
January 21, 2005
Parents should be warned that dropping the kids off at this one may be tantamount to child abuse.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
January 21, 2005
This gnarly and illogical little sitcom is bound to make any adult reconsider that next outing with the kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
January 20, 2005
Never arrives at any entertaining destination.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
January 20, 2005
Its star Ice Cube remains characteristically amiable, but this thuddingly miscalculated comedy is way beneath him.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
New York Times
January 20, 2005
The always charismatic Ice Cube makes Are We There Yet? watchable, but his young charges are such insufferable brats that the hero's change of heart remains a mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Bill Muller
Arizona Republic
January 20, 2005
If your requirements for good comedy begin and end with a swift kick to the groin, Are We There Yet? is the movie for you.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
January 20, 2005
Cube plays his part gamely, but the the film works against him.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
January 20, 2005
The strength of Ice Cube's performance is his willingness to show vulnerability. When he says he doesn't like kids, he means it. But when he cares, you feel it.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
January 20, 2005
Cube is a human teddy bear. His charm is about the only thing that carries the movie, 96 manic minutes of two obnoxious children holding hostage their caretaker.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
Newsday
January 20, 2005
Why can't anyone in Hollywood find something more worthy for the lovely, talented Nia Long to do besides play a simpering single mom? This isn't the first time I've asked such a question, and I'm sure it won't be the last.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Chuck Wilson
L.A. Weekly
January 20, 2005
Surely the only thing more excruciating than being trapped in a car with a bratty child is having to sit through a road-trip movie that features two of them.
Top Critic
Jon Waterhouse
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
January 20, 2005
Feels more like 'Is It Over Yet?'
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
January 20, 2005
Are We There Yet? won't make your day, but it won't kill it either.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
January 19, 2005
Is this what passes for family entertainment these days?
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
January 19, 2005
Will the audience follow Ice Cube on this road trip to benign banality? Here's hoping he books a nonstop return ticket.
Full Review | Original Score: C