Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

August 14, 2007
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 6, 2006
Are We There Yet? all too effectively conveys the claustrophobic horror of being shackled in a small space with two whiny, hateful children.
January 25, 2005
A joyless road-trip comedy that's about as pleasant as a bad case of car sickness.
January 24, 2005
The gags seem pretty lame even by the standards assiduously applied by most 8-year-olds.
January 24, 2005
These kids are going after perfectly innocent nice adults. They are some of the nastiest children in movie history.
January 21, 2005
Lacks the courage of its grape-juice-, mud-, and vomit-spattered convictions.
January 21, 2005
How much sweeter Nick's heart-to-heart with Lindsey and Kevin would be if the movie was more than a clichéd journey.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 21, 2005
Uh oh, pull over, I think I'm gonna be car sick.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
Worse than the crude humor is the movie's forced sentiment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
Is it over yet? Is it over yet? Is it over yet?
Read More | Original Score: D
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube has let so many of his hard edges melt off that he can't even manage a decent tantrum here.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
January 21, 2005
Delivers on some pretty basic childhood fantasies -- chiefly, kids seeing themselves in control, and watching adults in comical pain. And it does it too quickly and competently for their grown-up chaperones to mind much.
January 21, 2005
Are we laughing yet?
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
The kids finally soften Cube's heart (and vice versa), get Mom to see past his scowl and into his kind heart, and become a wholesome unit that makes this a distastefully fit and formulaic family film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
Shows children behaving in ways that go right to the edge of absolute evil, and who are snotty and charmless besides. At the same time, the movie demands that we should feel warm toward those kids after all.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
Never quite arrives, and perhaps at a cost to Ice Cube's career.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 21, 2005
We've got stereotypes-a-go-go: Raging redneck truckers. Accented Asians. Country bumpkins. Black fathers missing in action. The humor's a tad too raunchy for the kids, and the predictable plot won't win over any of the parents.
January 21, 2005
Phony and formulaic from start to finish, the movie may make some viewers feel as if they're trapped in a car themselves with a driver who won't pull over.
January 21, 2005
I would have loved to see a genuine love story involving Ice Cube, Nia Long, and the challenge of a lifelong bachelor dating a woman with children. Sad that a story like that couldn't get made, but this shrill 'comedy' could.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube is an essentially soft-screen presence despite the assumed belligerence of his shtick. His knotted scowl hides a mushy middle of basic human decency.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 21, 2005
Parents should be warned that dropping the kids off at this one may be tantamount to child abuse.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 21, 2005
This gnarly and illogical little sitcom is bound to make any adult reconsider that next outing with the kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 20, 2005
Never arrives at any entertaining destination.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 20, 2005
Its star Ice Cube remains characteristically amiable, but this thuddingly miscalculated comedy is way beneath him.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 20, 2005
The always charismatic Ice Cube makes Are We There Yet? watchable, but his young charges are such insufferable brats that the hero's change of heart remains a mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 20, 2005
If your requirements for good comedy begin and end with a swift kick to the groin, Are We There Yet? is the movie for you.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 20, 2005
Cube plays his part gamely, but the the film works against him.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 20, 2005
The strength of Ice Cube's performance is his willingness to show vulnerability. When he says he doesn't like kids, he means it. But when he cares, you feel it.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 20, 2005
Cube is a human teddy bear. His charm is about the only thing that carries the movie, 96 manic minutes of two obnoxious children holding hostage their caretaker.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 20, 2005
Why can't anyone in Hollywood find something more worthy for the lovely, talented Nia Long to do besides play a simpering single mom? This isn't the first time I've asked such a question, and I'm sure it won't be the last.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 20, 2005
Surely the only thing more excruciating than being trapped in a car with a bratty child is having to sit through a road-trip movie that features two of them.
January 20, 2005
Feels more like 'Is It Over Yet?'
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 20, 2005
Are We There Yet? won't make your day, but it won't kill it either.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 19, 2005
Is this what passes for family entertainment these days?
January 19, 2005
Will the audience follow Ice Cube on this road trip to benign banality? Here's hoping he books a nonstop return ticket.
Full Review | Original Score: C