Sahara - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sahara Reviews

Page 2 of 9
April 17, 2005
Cussler's attempt to make his concept of an ironclad ship making its way from Richmond to the African desert is no more credible on film than on the written page.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2005
jumps from plotline to plotline, stringing them together with a series of action setpieces that fulfill their obligations, but little more
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 16, 2005
Easy to look at and even easier to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 15, 2005
'...best described as Tom Clancy meets Indiana Jones.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 15, 2005
On the occasional moment when McConaughey actually works himself up to being heroic, Sahara positively soars.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
April 14, 2005
Despite the vast beauty of location settings in Morocco and Spain, the vast lack of chemistry between the two stars is appalling.
April 13, 2005
Sahara has lots of sound and fury trying to cover up for a hopelessly meandering story and a dull hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 13, 2005
McConaughney plays the role of dashing adventurer Dirk Pitt as if he were a party-hardy frat boy who ventured out into the real world after all campus kegs were tapped dry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 13, 2005
Good-natured junk that amuses while it's onscreen, and evaporates almost immediately afterward.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 12, 2005
...an action adventure film, complete with implausible situations, and perfectly timed rescues and escapes. Who cares? It's still fun, exciting and thoroughly entertaining
Full Review
April 12, 2005
..a rollicking, wild adventure in which a very buff Matthew McConaughey, and his able sidekick, Steve Zahn, have more fun than any movie pair since Mel Gibson and Danny Glover
Full Review
April 12, 2005
...will leave a parched sensation in one's dry throat...a recycled buddy-buddy vehicle that's about as welcoming as hugging a cactus tree
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 12, 2005
While it doesn't rewrite the genre, it finds a way to deliver with style and humor everything adventure fans want.
April 12, 2005
Sahara is many things, but it is not a movie. It is the skull-splitting cacophony of 21 producers and four screenwriters (that we know about, anyway) standing in the same room shouting into their cell phones.
April 12, 2005
Otherwise dismissive reviews of Sahara have been forgiving it on the grounds that it's entertaining. Allow me to counter that opinion: No, it isn't.
Full ReviewRead More
April 12, 2005
It ain't art, and it's dumber than I'd like, but I don't imagine you were expecting Kieslowski.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 12, 2005
Pitt seems to get by entirely on dumb ideas and reckless luck. In the end, he's an action hero in name only.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 11, 2005
It drove me crazy. It made National Treasure look like a documentary.
April 11, 2005
It would have worked better with a funnier and more believable script.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 11, 2005
...the overriding lesson here is that if we don't go looking to Matthew McConaughey for gravitas, we'll probably have a good time.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 9