The Honeymooners - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Honeymooners Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Joshua Starnes
March 22, 2011
There are two ways to look at the big-screen adaptation of The Honeymooners - as an adaptation of the show, and as a film in it's own right. Either way it's a film that occasionally works, but never manages more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
June 10, 2005
The gags in this don't just feel played. They're exhausted.
| Original Score: 2/5
Mark Keizer
Boxoffice Magazine
June 10, 2005
Since The Honeymooners is not a respectful tribute to the original, nor does it stand on its own, a beloved piece of American entertainment has officially been besmirched.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
June 9, 2005
It's an affront to our memories of the classic series, but the more serious crime is the poor use it makes of five supremely talented performers.
| Original Score: C
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
June 12, 2005
They should have just dug up three scripts from the old shows, stapled them together and turned that in for their screenplay. Instead, we're stuck with a shapeless mass.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Michael Szymanski
August 28, 2005
Silly remake, but not the worst of the year
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
June 10, 2005
Why? Why would someone do this? How did we get here, watching mediocre remakes of classic 1950s sitcoms? What is the meaning of it all? Does cinema have a purpose beyond supporting the theater-concessions industry?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
June 9, 2005
A lackluster affair, devoid of laughs and just about anything else one might construe as entertainment.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
June 13, 2005
I like the cast. They're very talented, they're really funny, they have a dreadful script to work with.
Todd Gilchrist
June 10, 2005
The (remake) honeymoon is over, people; if more movies like this come out, I may ask for a divorce from the whole medium.
Top Critic
David Hiltbrand
Philadelphia Inquirer
June 9, 2005
Not only an insult to the original, it should be shown at film schools as proof of how pointless a movie can be.
| Original Score: 1/4
Christian Toto
Washington Times
June 13, 2005
The Honeymooners is as unnecessary a remake as one might fear, but we've seen plenty of worse TV to film translations
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
June 10, 2005
Deserves to be sent straight to the moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
October 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Eric D. Snider
June 9, 2005
A big-thinking schemer and dreamer like Ralph Kramden was amusing in the quaint days of 1955. In 2005, he comes off like a moron.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Jeff Otto
IGN Movies
June 14, 2005
Thank God Jackie Gleason and Art Carney died before they could see this.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Brian Orndorf
June 10, 2005
Maybe my memory is a little hazy, but I fail to remember any booger jokes or gas siphoning gags in the Gleeson creation
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Kit Bowen
June 10, 2005
...don't expect any spousal abuse in the mushy, pedestrian and totally unnecessary big-screen version of The Honeymooners.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
May 29, 2007
A stroll down sitcom memory lane in name only, The Honeymooners seems as if any resemblance to the original TV classic could only be accidental.
Full Review
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 6