Nine Lives - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nine Lives Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 2, 2005
What's the point? If I wanted to spend 12 minutes watching someone pushing a cart around a grocery store, I'd go to the local A&P, not sit in a movie theater.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
November 18, 2005
While the result often is interesting, it's not always satisfying.
| Original Score: C
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
September 1, 2009
Nine Lives, zero truth
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
October 13, 2005
a film hurtling slowly towards nothing, with little to keep one interested along the way
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 31, 2005
Just as we're growing fond of someone, the vignette ends and we're on to the next woman. It's nine orphan scenes desperately in need of movies to take them home.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
October 14, 2005
The bad stories waste your time, and the good ones leave you unsatisfied.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
October 10, 2005
A collection of short films pretending to be a feature length movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
November 3, 2005
This movie is so bad, two lives into Nine Lives, I started counting how many lives I had to watch until I could leave.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
November 4, 2005
Nine Lives is aimed at femme, feminist film fanatics. I'm not one of them...
Full Review | Original Score: C
Keith Uhlich
Slant Magazine
September 20, 2005
Uh...ewww!
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
November 4, 2005
Of these nine lives, few seem to qualify as living at all.
Top Critic
Lisa Rose
Newark Star-Ledger
October 14, 2005
For a film centered on connection and continuity, Nine Lives is curiously erratic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
December 31, 2005
Each vignette is tantalizing but so short as to be stillborn, leaving the impression of an acting class exercise.
Bob Westal
Film Threat
December 31, 2005
... the first third of the film is marred by a tendency to be morbidly serious and overly dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Dan Fienberg
Zap2it.com
December 31, 2005
It's unclear why Garcia continues to choose to limit himself to these diluted portraits, rather than the layered and textured worlds that his writing and directing hint at.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Laura Sinagra
Village Voice
October 11, 2005
The short-story glimpses aim for Carver-esque pang, though the script could have used some Lorrie Moore bite.
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
October 27, 2005
Five or six lives might have felt more concise; nine test the patience a bit
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
November 1, 2005
Like a series of acting exercises...by the close it comes to seem a bit thin, promising more than it actually delivers.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Phoebe Flowers
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
November 10, 2005
These little stories (whose overlaps feel mostly like an afterthought) never really connect.
| Original Score: 2/4
Steve Schneider
Orlando Weekly
December 2, 2005
This is a movie predicated on contrivance after contrivance, but it doesn't even have the diligence to be genuinely calculated.
Top Critic

Ebert & Roeper
October 1, 2007
Page 1 of 5