Nine Lives - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nine Lives Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 2, 2005
What's the point? If I wanted to spend 12 minutes watching someone pushing a cart around a grocery store, I'd go to the local A&P, not sit in a movie theater.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 18, 2005
While the result often is interesting, it's not always satisfying.
Read More | Original Score: C
September 1, 2009
Nine Lives, zero truth
October 13, 2005
a film hurtling slowly towards nothing, with little to keep one interested along the way
| Original Score: 2/5
December 31, 2005
Just as we're growing fond of someone, the vignette ends and we're on to the next woman. It's nine orphan scenes desperately in need of movies to take them home.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 14, 2005
The bad stories waste your time, and the good ones leave you unsatisfied.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 10, 2005
A collection of short films pretending to be a feature length movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 3, 2005
This movie is so bad, two lives into Nine Lives, I started counting how many lives I had to watch until I could leave.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 4, 2005
Nine Lives is aimed at femme, feminist film fanatics. I'm not one of them...
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 20, 2005
Uh...ewww!
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 4, 2005
Of these nine lives, few seem to qualify as living at all.
October 14, 2005
For a film centered on connection and continuity, Nine Lives is curiously erratic.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 31, 2005
Each vignette is tantalizing but so short as to be stillborn, leaving the impression of an acting class exercise.
December 31, 2005
... the first third of the film is marred by a tendency to be morbidly serious and overly dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 31, 2005
It's unclear why Garcia continues to choose to limit himself to these diluted portraits, rather than the layered and textured worlds that his writing and directing hint at.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 11, 2005
The short-story glimpses aim for Carver-esque pang, though the script could have used some Lorrie Moore bite.
October 27, 2005
Five or six lives might have felt more concise; nine test the patience a bit
November 1, 2005
Like a series of acting exercises...by the close it comes to seem a bit thin, promising more than it actually delivers.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 10, 2005
These little stories (whose overlaps feel mostly like an afterthought) never really connect.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 2, 2005
This is a movie predicated on contrivance after contrivance, but it doesn't even have the diligence to be genuinely calculated.
Page 1 of 5