Strangers with Candy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Strangers with Candy Reviews

Page 2 of 5
July 26, 2006
The key to its success -- at least whatever success it can muster -- is the manic work of Amy Sedaris.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 23, 2006
Fans of the show will rejoice and a few newbies will become converts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 21, 2006
I laughed my gluteus maximus off while watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
Stretched to feature length, it's not consistently funny, but there are inspired moments and whipsmart lines that suggest how good the show was.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 21, 2006
Audiences should find the film brilliant or repellent. At the most interesting moments, it's a bit of both.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 21, 2006
The film is probably destined to be a cult success at best, since the TV program was an acquired taste and could be a little much, even when limited to 30 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 21, 2006
The highlight is Sedaris, unflinching as she throws herself into Jerri's clueless optimism.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
A half-hour sketch with an hour of padding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 20, 2006
It's a one-joke film that thinks its joke is funnier than it is and runs it into the ground, but not before getting a few laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 15, 2006
There are some giggles here, but much as I wanted to, I didn't find this anywhere near as funny as it should have been.
July 14, 2006
Jerri up close, with her geek grin and potty mouth, is testing.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2006
That the filmmakers struggle dragging the idea out to feature length is hardly surprising.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
We get Colbert, and we get Sedaris as Jerri Blank for just a little while longer. That's enough for us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
Some things were meant to be seen in small doses or on small screens. For all its subversive perks and quirks, Strangers is one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
Everyone but the terminally tight should find themselves laughing. And all should be awestruck by star Amy Sedaris.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 14, 2006
Not surprisingly, the film version contains about 30 minutes of hilarity, and they're stretched out at least as far as Jerri's ill-fitting slacks.
July 14, 2006
Some funny moments keep the movie from becoming unbearable, but they can't turn 22 minutes into 87.
Read More | Original Score: C
July 14, 2006
If Steve Martin was right, and "comedy is not pretty," then Amy Sedaris' Jerri Blank must be the funniest character on the planet.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
July 14, 2006
The series' unflagging cynicism was a dead end that now seems callow and perhaps even insincere, considering the political engagement displayed by co-creator Stephen Colbert in his new persona as a faux conservative news commentator.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
The school is like none you've seen on screen before. Mary Katherine Gallagher would 'love, love, LOVE!' it, as do I.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 5